We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New years remembered”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ocean House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ocean House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Watch Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Mystic Ct.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New years remembered”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This New Year celebration at the Ocean House Watch Hill RI was a wonder of time. Black Tie, open bar, and stations of food placed around the entire hotel, Eight cusines of the world on entering to music more sedate, you were given a passport, to be stamped at each food station for a drawing of a night at the hotel. Open bar, servers from the moment you entered with champagne, white wine. HIgh end vodka, great food especiallly considering the crowd, Lovely ,a bargain at 149.00 a person, leaving after dancing til 1:00 in the lower level to the cover version, of every song .> band. It was like leaving Midnight In Paris a Woody Allen film. All ages more young 30's then one might expect PERFECT

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuchessMysticCt_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
communicationsOH, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed our New Year’s Eve Gala, and hope you can join us again next year.

Kind regards,

Daniel A. Hostettler, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    69
    51
    25
    27
See reviews for
134
383
19
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
150 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

The hotel is a total, faithful rebuild of an 1868 hotel on the same site. Beautiful architecture, elegant and large rooms, very well appointed, and notable: excellent, engaging and tasteful artwork including remarkable collection of cartoons, old hotel and steamer stickers and marvelous pictures and diagrams of ocean liners. For the top-class setting, the building and the rooms, everything was a good value (though not inexpensive)
The food in the Seasons Restaurant, though largely of local produce, was complicated, overly ambitious and contrived, and expensive. The hotel would do better to have a simpler menu with fewer, really first class, traditional dishes. On the full dinner menu, the food gets a mixed report and some of the expensive wine selections were so-so. To partly escape, have dinner in the Bistro where the food is simpler and (somewhat) better value. We would have been happier in this really marvelous setting if we had thought of going out to dinner instead of having every meal at the hotel, that was our fault.
On balance, an OUTSTANDING destination.

Room Tip: You can hardly go wrong! We had a suite but looked at doubles too. Everything was first class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank upintheairglobally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
communicationsOH, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoy your stay, and regret that you found Seasons unsatisfactory. We change our menus each week to reflect the local, seasonal products that we highlight. We do encourage those looking for simpler, more traditional fare to order from the Bistro Menu. We also work to price our wine list significantly lower than many of our competitors to provide the best value for our guests. Please visit us again.

Kind regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

All I can say is WOW! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the hotel staff took care of our every need that made our stay exceptional! The property itself is magnificent and a $140M renovation was completed in 2010. There are only 49 rooms and 23 residences, so the property never feels too busy. You get to choose the time your room gets cleaned and turned down daily. Each day 'treats' are left in your room that are much more than you would expect. We even received a small pine tree for Christmas! All the snacks and beverages(non alcoholic) in the room are complimentary and there is absolutely no tipping permitted. We really felt that the staff was on top of everything that made it easy for us to relax more than we have ever been able to do before, The spa was fantastic and the relaxation room was pure serenity. When we left to go home, two bars of chocolate were waiting with two bottles of water in my cars cup holders for the ride home. The only thing I would change is the type of towels in the rooms. They were too stiff and out of character for the luxurious linens, bathrobes and blankets in the rooms.
We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trekfrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
communicationsOH, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you had an exceptional stay. We apologize if the towels were not to your satisfaction; we will discuss this with the rooms team. We hope you return soon.
Kind regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

After months of searching and squabbling, my siblings and I settled on the Ocean House as the spot for our parents 50th Anniversary. We we very happy with our decision. The Ocean House was appropriatley elegant without being stuffy. There were room choices to suit everyone from the celebrated couple to a family suite. The hospitality was all around pleasant and accommodating. The staff took care of our special requests very professionally. The no tip policy takes away the awkward feelings about when and who and how much to tip. A resort fee is added on to your already fat bill to cover gratuities for everything except the restaurants.
The rooms were beautifully decorated, some with decks and fireplaces. The bathrooms are amazing. All the little touches are appreciated from a tray over the deep soaking tub to free snacks in the rooms. The setting on a cliff above the ocean is spectacular.
All this beauty and luxury comes with a hefty price tag. You get what you pay for here though. One exception is the restaurants. The service is very good and the decor was beautiful, but the food quality did not rate the high prices.
There's nothing worse than spending lots of money for an experience only for it to disappoint and the Ocean House definitely did not. It provided just the lasting memory we wanted and was worthy of the occasion.

Room Tip: Pets are allowed but for a prohibitive $125 fee
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadTrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
communicationsOH, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your parent’s 50th anniversary. We are delighted we were able to provide you with a memorable experience. We apologize if the food did not meet your expectations. Please visit us again.
Kind Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

For the past 6 months my company has been working with the Ocean House to plan our annual client holiday party. Since the OH was said to have exceptional service and great amenities we thought it would really wow our clients. I was not part of the planning process on a detailed level, however, I did hear many stories from my colleague about miscommunications along the way. It was a frustrating process from what I understand.

The Ocean House is beautiful, the facility is impressive and so grand. It would be the perfect place if you could just ignore the rude staff. I do need to say that some staff (housekeeping, valet and floor valet) were very accommodating and very nice. We also had a few servers at our luncheon that were very nice!

The front desk staff was helpful, yet so rude when you asked for anything. The gentleman working at Guest Relations acted like I was the biggest inconvenience to him when asking a simple question (I wanted to know if they sold the ornaments that were on the tree in the gift shop). I mean really, how dare I ask such a thing!

When my colleagues and I arrived we met with our event planning staff to go over billing. It was decided that ALL incidentals except for the spa credit we were providing would be placed on the individual guests credit cards, but room fee, tax and service charge would be billed to our master account. When we checked out I received a bill for only $36 dollars (GREAT! ) Except that means that all the room charges, bar charges, etc went to the master bill, when we specifically asked for them to be billed to the individuals.

When my colleague called to let billing know they said they would check into what happened and get back to her....next thing you know our clients and staff all had reverse charges on their cards. It is obviously fine for staff, but our clients left assuming we paid for EVERYTHING, and two days later got charged for any incidentals. The billing manager never called to let us know they were doing this. Not only does it make them look unprofessional but it makes us look bad with our clients! After spending upwards of almost 40K on an event you would think they would try to work with us a little better.

Our event was great, our clients had a great time and really loved the open bar (who doesn't!). Our crowd was pretty rowdy, but respectful. At some point of the evening security took our event planner aside and wanted to discuss the party. She of course offered to let the DJ know to tone it done, etc. She told her that our guests were intoxicated and our event planner told her that they should shut the bar down then. They informed her they would not do so (obviously because they wanted our money!). After working as a bartender myself for years the number rule here should be to CUT PEOPLE OFF if you feel they have had too much, end of story! In this case we were all staying at the hotel so luckily there would not be anyone driving home, but the bartender couldn't have known that and acted very irresponsibly if she indeed felt that our group was intoxicated.

At the event I had a colleague talk to the event manger, Cindy, about the way she acted toward our event planner and Cindy, who is probably the rudest woman that works at OH, basically acted like she didn't care at all about what we thought.

This is SO infuriating! We spent a lot of money to show our clients a good time and we were treated like second class citizens for the most part.

Bottom line: We had an amazing event with great food and friends, the OH property and rooms are AMAZING. The staff is not great and they do not treat you with respect at all. Its not about the money by any means. I could spend $150/night on a room and hope to be treated with great customer service, but when your spending upwards of $500/night and 40K on an event thats when the customer service should really shine....and at OH it really doesn't.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
communicationsOH, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Dear Guest,
We understand that your billing changed once you arrived on property and while we attempted to make the changes requested, we made an error and did not successfully make your changes until it was brought to our attention at check out. We sincerely apologize for any confusion this may have brought to your clients. During the event, our team perceived some of your guests to be inebriated and attempting to utilize the swimming pool. Due to this, we felt the need for our security director to step in. We apologize if we could have handled it better, but we hope you understand we were attempting to care for the safety of our guests as best we could. We truly apologize if our staff was anything but courteous and professional to you and your clients; we will address this internally.
Kind Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler, President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Planned a special evening out with my wife for her birthday. The Ocean House did not disappoint. The food was superior. Service was excellent. Our waiter Pat led us through the menu and made some great recommendations. They had remembered that it was my wifes birthday and made a point to give us a special dessert.

The staff here put on a great show supported by a great kitchen.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
communicationsOH, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your dining experience in Seasons. Thank you for choosing us to celebrate the occasion. We hope you visit us again.
Kind Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler, President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly Rhode Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We just returned from Thanksgiving buffet at The Ocean House. If it were possible to exceed the ratings stars...this would be impeccable excellence. The staff was flawless. The presentation of food and dining experience a photograpgher's dream. Each buffet morsel heaven to the palate. And the pastry chef rivals the finest. The view and the grounds, a cinematic artist's fantasy...it was so clear we could see Long Island...and the ocean a stunning azure glsitening with froths of gentle waves. It was ecstasy for the occasion. I am full literally and figuratively of the reality of Happy Thanksgiving!!! Kudos Ocean House! Take a well deserved bow! And management...you know who you are, and you have earned the reputation you have worked for.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thevillaatwesterly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
communicationsOH, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are truly humbled by your words and greatly appreciate your complements. We are delighted we were able to make your Thanksgiving Day a memorable event. Please visit us again.
Kind Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler, President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watch Hill
2.0 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
298 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
194 reviews
3.5 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#5 of 17 in Westerly
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
668 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
647 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sandy Shore Motel
Sandy Shore Motel
#5 of 6 in Misquamicut
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean House

Property: The Ocean House
Address: 1 Bluff Ave, Watch Hill, Westerly, RI 02891-5703
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Watch Hill
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Watch Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ocean House 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Ocean House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean House Hotel Watch Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing