We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ocean House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ocean House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Watch Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Montclair
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We booked a King Terrace room at the Ocean House for one heavenly night. Loved the room and the service was absolutely exceptional. At one point, I barely hung up the phone when the staff was knocking at the door to help me. Our room was really elegant and we enjoyed the private terrace that opened up to a larger, virtually empty space with a gorgeous view of beach. Dinner at the hotel was great except I would recommend trying to sit out on the porch, rather than the interior dining room. The Sunday morning jazz brunch was just superb as were croquette lessons on the beautiful lawn.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
communicationsOH, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Ocean House. Please visit us again.
Kind Regards,
Daniel Hostettler, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    69
    51
    25
    27
See reviews for
134
380
19
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

It has been almost a year since our September 2010 stay at the Ocean House, and as we catch-up on writing hotel reviews we would be remiss if we did not comment on our visit. We stayed two nights in a second floor "Terrace King" room (not a corner room) with a view of the water and overlooking the lawn where croquet is played. The photos do not do the rooms and furnishings justice, as the property has been immaculately restored or should I say rebuilt. The rooms are beautifully furnished and are very comfortable. We enjoyed our terrace during the morning and evening hours, and would definitely recommend the rooms with outside space if you are visiting in good weather.

On Friday night we enjoyed the lobster bake, although it was an overcast night and by about 7:30 - 8:00 p.m. it was more difficult to see. On Saturday we ate dinner at Seasons, and I still recall that my husband's entree of seared scallops was perfect. We also greatly enjoyed Sunday brunch. Restaurant service was a bit spotty at the time, but I attribute that to the hotel having recently opened prior to our visit. For a casual lunch, we walked the 10 -12 minutes to St. Claire Annex for lobster rolls. Watch Hill is a lovely community for walking or biking, and the hotel has bikes for guests' use. For additional exercise, we recommend the walk to Napatree Point.

To get to Ocean House from New York City, we took Amtrak from Penn Station to Westerly and a hotel driver was at the train station waiting for us when our train arrived.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYCityTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
communicationsOH, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on your stay at the Ocean House. We are glad you enjoyed our property and the local area. We hope you can visit us again to see all the great changes that have occurred since last summer, including improvements to restaurant service.
Kind Regards,
Daniel Hostettler, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

I met up with my college roommate--it is a great midway meet up point between the Boston and NYC area. This hotel is luxurious. There are only 49 hotel rooms, so you can count on excellent service. They have thought of everything. If you are sitting in the lobby, or near the fireplace, someone will approach you and ask if you'd like something to drink, etc. The room was furnished beautifully--well-appointed and super clean which is very, very important in my book (I would even consider walking around the room in my bare feet--something I NEVER do in hotel rooms). It was quiet and the bed was to-die-for. I felt very pampered while I was there. We ate at the hotel restaurant for all of our meals. I was still hungry after dinner--the portion sizes are small, but not unexpected for a 'gourmet' meal. Next time, I'd definitely go off property in search of a local seafood restaurant. The Sunday brunch was gorgeous--a feast for the eyes as well as the palate. The tiniest detail isn't overlooked, for example, when I left, the valet brought my car around and there were two water bottles already in my cup holder for my drive home.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beantowntrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
communicationsOH, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad we were able to offer you a luxurious stay, and hope you return again. When you return, we would be happy to recommend one of the wonderful local seafood restaurants.
Kind Regards,
Daniel Hostettler, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We did not stay at the hotel, but had dinner twice there, once outside and once in the formal dining room. The views from the outdoor terrace are fantastic which is why we went back with friends. It rained on the second day. They were fussy about what you wore. If you asked them to change anything on your meal, they would not. The prices in the dining room were very expensive with small portions. There are much friendlier restaurants with better food and less expensive prices in Watch Hill.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolS65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
communicationsOH, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your feedback, and apologize if your dining experience was unsatisfactory. We do have a dress code policy and ask that each and every one of our guests abides by it. We try to be as accommodating as we can to our guests in terms of menu options, but do hope our guests are open to experiencing dishes as the Chefs have created them. Our prices may be higher than other restaurants due to the high quality of ingredients we use, and the small farms we source these from, which tend to have higher prices as well. We serve standard portions at the restaurant, offering 5 to 6 ounce portions of protein.
Kind Regards,
Daniel Hostettler, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Ocean House is a gem. The property is beautiful. The food is marvelous. The amenities are many. but, what sets it apart and puts it in a class by itself is the service. The people working there are passionate about excellence and it shows.

Our room was a junior suite, it was lovely. The art is wonderful. The bathroom was magnificent.

The beach is lovely and perfect for walking or running, it is smooth and the sand is compacted so you do not sink down in it like you do on the Atlantic side of Nantucket. There is a small beach club and they serve reliable food near the shore.

The view from just about anyplace on the property is magical.

The staff answers every request with a smile and a "we can do that" attitude that is too rare today. They also remember your name, your tastes and preferences, and your situation (it was our anniversary and the staff did not fail to wish us a happy anniversary)

Chris, the front doorman, is one of a kind, He is helpful, courteous, and has great local recommendations. He could school some of the doormen at prominent NYC hotels.

The Ocean House is a treasure. We will return often (if we can get a reservation...)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gutreaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
communicationsOH, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted we were able to offer you remarkable service and exceptional stay. Please visit us again.
Kind Regards,
Daniel Hostettler, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Our family stayed here recently and had a great time. We have a newborn and a 5 year old. We arrived at 1pm but had to wait until 4pm to check in despite having a newborn to hang out with but our mood changed when we got to the room. It was gorgeous. Large, light and all furnishings and toiletries were top class. There was even a teddy bear in the crib for our newborn. The first night we sat in the bar area and had dinner with friends which was delicious, the second night there was a private function going on in the hotel and the entire hotel was shut down. We couldn't even go to the bar for drinks so had to go offsite since we had a sitter organized. Also the pool is only open to kids for 2 hours per day so that was a challenge since it rained a lot. I also tried the spa and had a wonderful facial. Our friends had a suite and it was bigger than an apartment!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lsandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
communicationsOH, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your feedback. Due to the small size of our hotel, we are unable to promise early check in to our guests. We are glad you enjoyed our spa services, dinner and beautiful rooms. We apologize for any inconvenience our private event may have caused, but do hope you enjoyed dining off- property, as we do have many great restaurants in the area. We hope you visit us again.
Kind Regards,
Daniel Hostettler, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Ocean House, while expensive, is worth every penny spent - if you can get in. This luxury resort in the sleepy town of Watch Hill RI offers everything one could want in an historic and luxurious setting. The staff is consumately professional and ever helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bohhbann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
communicationsOH, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments, and we hope you visit us again.

Kind Regards,
Daniel Hostettler, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watch Hill
2.0 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
3.5 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#6 of 17 in Westerly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
9.7 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean House

Property: The Ocean House
Address: 1 Bluff Ave, Watch Hill, Westerly, RI 02891-5703
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Watch Hill
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Watch Hill
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ocean House 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Also Known As:
The Ocean House Hotel Watch Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing