We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“if you want Seafood this is the place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Legal Sea Foods

Legal Sea Foods
Reserve with OpenTable
Legal Sea Foods is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 302 Restaurants in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Coronado Ave.
Transit: Located directly across from T.F. Green Airport (Providence Airport).
Description: In the “Ocean State,” Legal Sea Foods makes waves serving over 40 varieties of fish and shellfish throughout the year. Our restaurant is a destination for seafood lovers from Rhode Island and southern Massachusetts who have a taste for great food and fun. In season, our patio is a popular lure for those who choose the fresh seafood and fresh air combo. Travelers in and out of nearby T. F. Green Airport add a visit to Legal Sea Foods to their itineraries.
Chelsea, Alabama
Level Contributor
117 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“if you want Seafood this is the place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Very good and lots of food. If you want seafood i dont think you will find a better place. Great service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Len C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    162
    62
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
168 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Just OK....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stopped in for a late dinner, as the restaurant got great reviews and was very close to our hotel. We decided to try a bunch of appetizers, as opposed to both ordering entrees. We ordered the clam chowder, "Rhode Island stuffies", steamers, calamari and the fried shrimp wontons. I wanted to love everything we ordered- but I just didn't. The chowder was very good, but everything else, in my opinion, was just standard fare- not what I would expect from a seafood restaurant in New England. Everything was pretty good, just not great. I felt like it was almost a waste of money, but they were kind enough to take the stuffies (which we really did not care for) off the bill, which was appreciated. The staff was very nice, as was the atmosphere, so it has a lot of potential. Perhaps the main dishes are the better menu items...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matanda28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch with attentive service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Excellent lunch with attentive service! Stopped at Legal for a quick lunch and were very surprised to find an outstanding meal served by an excellent waiter named Christopher. This young man suggested just the right selections. Good wine, an excellent Greek salad with shrimp, outstanding clam chowder with the fisherman's trio ... A surprising meal at a chain restaurant!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aged_Curmudgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, MD
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food at a price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Selection of oysters from places that vary visit to visit. Dinners $$$$$. I chose chowder and clam cakes appetizer. Felt misled on 6 for $6 oysters as it only covered blue points.
They adjusted to $18 a dozen for others, but buyer beware. I still haven't found the chowder for me, I've tried the RI Red and Light (clear broth) but would probably try the New England if I returned.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank _Computer_Geek_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
251 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Our "go to" place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Always the place we go to when we can't think about it. And never disappointed. Going here for nearly as long as we lived here, for their top dishes: Rhode Island Clam chowder, lobster, any of the wood grilled fish, steamers, and the clam cakes (that you can die for).

The wine selection is good (still miss the Volvray that they had by the glass); staff gives good service. If you have a problem, the manager is there to help.

Hint. The hostesses will sometimes seat you in some of the worse places; don't take that as the final answer...ask for a better seat or cal the manager. Sometimes, it pays to be a bit assertive to get past the inexperience of the hostesses (pretty but not always too sharp). They _do_ take reservations bt you have to be insistent over the phone, otherwise they just put you on a list.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrPickwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Legal Sea Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing