We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what it used to be” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Greenwood Inn Restaurant

The Greenwood Inn Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 302 Restaurants in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Greenwood Inn is a family-owned and managed full-service restaurant that was established in 1954. We've been called a RI Institution, and we're very proud and appreciative of that. Our menu is quite varied but we're known for our seafood (baked stuffed shrimp, fried calamari, clams casino and more), our prime rib, veal parmesan, homemade chicken soup, variety of dishes made from the fresh turkeys we roast on premises each day. Our staff and service is exceptional, prices are reasonable, location is conveniently off I-95 (near airport, train station and several nearby hotels), and ambiance is beautiful with a large fieldstone fireplace for cooler months and outdoor patio for warmer months. Our kitchen serves till midnight most nights, our private room accommodates up to 52 people (perfect for bridal/baby showers, birthday parties, company meetings and other events). Our bar scene is unlike any other - very friendly and welcoming. Live music usually starts at 9pm on Saturdays. Takeout is available, and we have several tv monitors throughout our bar and dining areas. Thank you for your interest in the Greenwood Inn.
Moosup, Connecticut
Level Contributor
122 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Since renovtions completed 2 years ago, prices have increased, portions have decreased,
Disinterested wait staff...then again they always were, but the food was good

Helpful?
1 Thank SissyBiff2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    28
    14
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
1,832 reviews
1,353 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
“newly redone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

nice food. good selection.good staff.full bar.parking. Nice portions. Prices are good.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Barry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
“Great PLACE TO DINE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Enjoyed dining at the Greenwood Inn very much.
The atmosphere was very warming, The host and waitstaff were very welcoiming and friendly towards everyone..
We all enjoyed our food very much. The portions were huge and very affordable.
We all had a very pleasant and satisfying experience at the GI and will defintely go back and will recommend to others.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Christine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Use to be great but now it's a big disipointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Use to go here all the time. Food was great and there was always a lot of it. I would have to say the last half dozen times I've been here the food and service haven't been up to par. Tonight my husband went over to get 2 lobster rolls to go. If I had been in the reataurant I would have sent them back. They were small, had very little mayo and were WARM. My days at the Inn are over.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eloiseann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The restaurant building is nice. food ok and service- ok”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

I agree with some of the other people that reviewed this restaurant. I only went to this restaurant one time this past winter. The restaurant has been around for over 50 years so I figured it must be really good since it has been around so long.

The restaurant was recently remodeled with nice decor. The restaurant was warm and welcoming inside. While waiting for a seat I could see the restaurant seemed to have a lot of old timers eating at this restaurant. I got the sense that the waiters knew many of the customers. So, I kept thinking to myself this has got to be a good restaurant because it appears that there are repeat customers eating at this restaurant.

I told the waiter that I had never been there before. The waiter did not seem to care that I was a new customer. I asked what is their specialty. The guy said you get a soup with every meal. The soup was extremely bland. I can not understand what the point is to serve bland soup and it comes with almost every meal! What a waist of money for the restaurant to serve bland soup!! The waiter said that the Italian dinners are good. I had a veal parmigiana with spaghetti. Again, I thought the dinner was pretty bland. Nothing interesting about the dinner. The waiter seem to want to wrap it up with us and move on to another customer. In the end, I felt way too much money for bland food and lousy service. Since the restaurant took the time and money into investing with the decor the next thing they need to do is redo the menu.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annepainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greenwood Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Greenwood Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing