We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful hole in the wall”

Amaral's Fish & Chips
Ranked #7 of 62 Restaurants in Warren
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Oakland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A wonderful hole in the wall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent few days in charming Rhode Island and we wanted to try some real authentic food...for the first time I try clam cakes and Rhode Island clam chowder. The cakes are like fried clam and dough but were delicious, apparently you eat them by dipping them in the chowder, the New England one is like the New England but without cream...like a thick clam stock, wonderful and cheap. A good lunch place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mariedda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great little place...excellent food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Awesome atmosphere, nice people, great food. Fish n chips and chowder and cakes are an excellent choice. Little hole in the wall owned by a great family.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amaral_kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious fish and chips!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

I got take out from here while on vacation. Fish and chips were great, best I had the whole trip. Staff was very friendly and the food came out fast and hot! Also ordered chicken strips and onion rings that I was told were delicious as well!

Helpful?
Thank ea32188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
110 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Five years ago, I moved from RI to CT. I used to work in Warren and went here for lunch EVERY DAY!!! The clubhouse atmosphere was the highlight of every day and the food was exceptional for the price. Whenever I'm in the area, I stop in and get my fill of their great food. I wish I still was living nearby as I'd still be going every day. Don't judge this book by its' cover...

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bohica12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Rhode Island Chowder and Clam Cakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

I was born in the area and now live in California. The seafood at Amaral's is the best, but I often order the chowder and clam cakes because I usually go at lunch. They are authentic and the chowder is NOT the thick stuff you get in lots of places. It's the chowder any of us Rhode Islanders grew up with. I can't recommend the place highly enough. If you want great food in a local place and want to be casual, this is your place. And don't forget to take home a loaf of the sweetbread...the best in the area.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank REBCARI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amaral's Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Amaral's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing