We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweeeeeeeeet!”
Review of Sweet Cakes, Inc.

Sweet Cakes, Inc.
Ranked #2 of 4 Dessert in Wakefield
Restaurant details
Narragansett, Rhode Island, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sweeeeeeeeet!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Excellent coffee- great sandwiches- spectacular cookies, cupcakes, muffins, cakes. Maybe a bit pricy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Not the same with new owners”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Very disappointed when I visited last week. I had always looked forward to a delicious morning pastry and a coffee on the patio. Didn't realize the owners had changed and the selection offered was not appelaing. We got a blueberry muffin and a scone -- and we could not finish either as they were so 'stodgy'. My coffee had grounds in it ... and there was junk stored on the patio wrapped in a huge sheet of plastic. What a disappointment overall.

Seems it is still popular with the locals ... so, did I just happen to get the worst pastries of the day .. or are they nostalgic?

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank outoford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Service & great food!”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

All good at this place - no complaints at all. They were kind enough to accomodate a large group for us. Everyone enjoyed it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Getaway929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kingston, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“local nuts”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Great local bakery, with very talented people. Both breakfast and lunch are served (think soup, salad, maybe a daily special). The cakes are to die for and a broad range of creative baked goods (ginger scones). They always run out of bread before I can get there, so no idea but think the bread would be great too.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank 100Honkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“It Doesn't Get Much Sweeter”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I took a tour with my daughter. Liz, the pastry chef, showed us her tricks of the trade. We enjoyed watching her create the most beautiful cupcakes. The shop also makes soups, sandwiches, gourmet coffee, and of course amazing pastries. The red velvet cupcake I enjoyed was phenomenal! Please take your own sweet journey through this tasty pastry shop and cafe'. Say hello to Liz for us!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happyincharlietown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Cakes, Inc. also viewed

Wakefield, South Kingstown
Wakefield, South Kingstown
 
Narragansett, South County
 

Been to Sweet Cakes, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing