We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run Down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eden Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Wakefield B&B and Inns
Cleveland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Run Down”
Reviewed August 22, 2006

Based on the previous excellent reviews we decided to spend 2 nights recently at Eden Manor. The first thing we saw as we pulled into the driveway was a For Sale sign; it was a portent of things to come. We were greeted and shown around by a child, who tried his youthful best but was unable to find our reservation, turn lights on, or give us directions to local restaurants. The whole place showed signs of being run on a tight budget - mismatched thin towels, no blankets or extra pillows, ice machine empty and not working, dim light bulbs everywhere. There was a pervasive musty smell common in old houses that are not well maintained. At night all outside doors are left unlocked, many of them wide open, which made us very uncomfortable since our bedroom doors didn't lock either. Breakfast is self-serve, buffet style. The first morning we had all the usual cold items plus one hot dish; the second morning there was a new hot dish plus leftovers from the day before. The coffee pot's warming feature apparently doesn't work.
We did finally meet both hosts, who are very pleasant but obviously overworked and overwhelmed.
The location of the Manor is very convenient to the beaches and URI, its setting is beautiful, and hopefully it will be bought by someone who will have the funds to bring it up to par and run it the way it should be run. In the meantime spend your $150 - 200 elsewhere.

  • Liked — location close to beaches
  • Disliked — run down, lack of service
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank lovethelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edenmanor, owner at Eden Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 19, 2006
This review just goes to show there's one in every crowd (and they are almost impossible to please). While it is true that our B & B is for sale, we strive to provide the best experience possible for our guests in every way. The house is immaculate and well maintained as the other unsolicited reviews found here testify to.
If they were dissatisfied with somethig they should have told us and we would have done our best to make it right (certainly exta blankets and pillows is an easy fix). We were shocked and dimayed to see this review as no complaints were received during this time. Instead these guests thought it better to be silent and save their discontent for a forum such as this.
Go figure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    12
    6
    4
    8
See reviews for
22
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 6, 2006

Just returned from the long weekend in Eden Manor. Convenient location, very good and friendly owners. Breakfast was very good - we even didn't expected such a good quality. Excellent for kids - big property where they can safely play. Very close to bike route. 10 minutes driving from the excellent beaches.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 24, 2005

My partner and I have been staying at Eden Manor since 2003. Lloyd and Bernadette Eden are the most welcoming and gracious hosts anyone could ask for. I have read some negative comments on various reviews of Eden Manor and I just have to laugh.

On our recent stay at Eden Manor, there were guests who smoked cigarettes in their rooms. First off, the Eden's clearly state in all their policies that Eden Manor is a non-smoking B & B. Signs are posted everywhere and smoking is not permitted in either the rooms or anywhere inside the B & B.

If people can't abide by a business establishments policies, then they should stay home. Eden Manor is a divine place to stay and I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a comfortable and pleasant stay.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2005

We started out a little unsure, since we were staying for a week and booked the Eden Manor off the web, sight unseen. Once there all reservations left. The Edens are wonderful hosts. You become one of their family. The room/suite we had was spacious and well appointed. The best secret is the breakfast. They advertise a continental breakfast - but we always had one, two or even three hot dishes in addition to the fruit, cereal, and muffins/pastries. Each morning was a surprise. This is a must stay destination.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kpkilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 18, 2005

This family run B&B makes you feel like part of the family. The kids had a great time playing on the ponderous property with the Eden kids and dog. The room were comfortable and had plenty of it, which allowed the kids to have practically a private bedroom. The breakfast had healthy choices and everything that you would need to be satisfied. It's a great house and the Edens are doing well maintaining it.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 19, 2005

This was our third stay at the Eden Manor B & B. We love the Victorian feel of the Inn and the friendly Inn Keepers. The rooms are beautifully appointed, with antiques throughout the large mansion. The breakfasts are delicious with home made breads, fresh fruits, yogurt, hot dishes etc. The grounds are beautifully kept and there is much to do in the area. The Inn is close to the University of Rhode Island, and all of the local beaches. There are great restaurants and shops in the area too. No need to look elsewhere when such a lovely Inn is available.
BGS in CT.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Ct
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2005

Thought the atmosphere and the furnishings of the house really exemplified the era. Even the shower curtains were carefully picked to reflect the color scheme.
The owners were delightful and friendly and breakfast consisted of homemade treats including an egg dish. Another plus was the ability to eat outside on the porch.
Would have no problem recommending this place to anyone wishing to be in the area.
cfb

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank cfb410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wakefield
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
2.9 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#5 of 8 in Narragansett
72 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#7 of 8 in Narragansett
149 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
211 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Wind Swept Inn
The Wind Swept Inn
#3 of 6 in Charlestown
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Manor Bed and Breakfast

Property: Eden Manor Bed and Breakfast
Address: 154 Post Rd, Wakefield, South Kingstown, RI 02879-7501
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > South Kingstown > Wakefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eden Manor Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Eden Manor Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing