We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent special place in Rhode Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eden Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Wakefield B&B and Inns
Bangkok
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent special place in Rhode Island”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

I stayed at the Eden Manor for four days in late May. It is a wonderful relaxed setting in a classic New England Victorian home. The family and owners live on the premises. It is a family operated guest house and they are very helpful and relaxed. This is not a hotel so if you are expecting hotel service this is not the place. The rooms are very nice, the grounds are wonderful, the antique furniture and settings are a wonderful experience and ambiance. My only regret is that I could not stay longer and enjoy the setting and place more due to travel schedule. The breakfast is just fine and home cooked. Yes notes are left for guests but I find this charming.
I will stay here again and highly recommend it to others....a classic Rhode Island experience.
The location is close to URI, Wakefield, Highway 1 north and south, and Narragansett beaches and Block Island and Newport. If you are going to these places, stay here....Mike Carroll

Room Tip: Ask the owners for your preferences. If you need a ground floor room, they will accomodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MichaelRocksAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    12
    5
    4
    8
See reviews for
21
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

My husband and I had travelled around the country and our lodging of choice is always a bed and breakfast. We have to give it a thumb down....very disappointed. The premises although clean, it looks like it needs some home improvements. Walls are cracked, the door to our bedroom didn't close well. The bathrooms were very outdated. Lets talk about the breakfast. The food was terrible. It looks like there was no effort put into it. The coffee was watery and the food seems to be left over from the day before. It didn't appear that the food was cooked on premises.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Octavia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

On arrival we waited fifteen minutes to check in before I finally went round to the family's area to find the owners.

On first appearance, our room was brilliant and very spacious . However, some of the furnishings were quite worn and the bathroom was in dire need of modernisation. During the night we were woken by children running around in the room above us.

Breakfast was OK but a very limited choice - it was not topped up so as we were later down than some of the other guests we did not get the choice they had.

In fairness to the owners they had had a very busy family time with children's parties, etc, which probably accounts for us not being met appropriately and children running around during the night. However, we were paying guests!
Moira (Hertfordshire UK)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mograinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Britain, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Pros: I definitely think that the owners are very nice and that the house and grounds are gorgeous. I also have absolutely no complaints about the breakfasts, unlike other reviewers.

Cons: The free wi-fi is spotty and unreliable. I purposely booked a place with wi-fi due to being enrolled in an online course, and was a bit disappointed at how difficult it was to get online. My main complaint, however, is the lack of air-conditioning. Had I known there would not be air conditioning, I would definitely have not chosen Eden Manor for a July vacation. I found it practically impossible to sleep due to the heat. I feel guilty for complaining about it, but I wish this information would have been disclosed on the website. I would recommend Eden Manor for a Winter stay in a heartbeat, but definitely not for July or August.

As other reviewers have mentioned, there are no room keys, and there are many dogs and cats roaming around. While all of my party love dogs and cats and didn't mind this, it is probably something that should be mentioned on their website in case people have allergies. Also, as others have mentioned, no one was around when we got here to check in and we finally had to use our cell to call on the phone and get someone's attention. I think it would be good to have a receptionist.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PersephoneC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Just got back from our annual wedding anniversary stay at Eden (OK, this was only our 2nd but both at Eden).
It started off with a call the night before saying they did not have our reservation. Lloyd did find it and they were very professional and apologetic about the situation. These thing happen even in the best 5 star hotels, I know. It was taken care of perfectly.
Eden is a beautiful 1800s Victorian house with wonderful grounds. It is perfect for us as we are pet friendly travelers and take our dogs everywhere. Most places are pet "accommodating" but Eden is truly pet "friendly". You will probably be met by Buddy who is a kind gentle 10 year old German short hair. Rex is usually wandering around as he is the wee runt of the pack and Peanut is a feisty little guy out back. Our dogs love it here as we do.
The rooms are quiet and quaint. We get room D with a private bath on the first floor and it is perfect. Charming and relaxing.
Eden is truly a family run B&B. Lloyd and Bernadette's children can be found helping out with breakfast, tidying up rooms, and welcoming guests. Very very impressive and great polite kids. I have read reviews that say "we couldn't find anyone" or things like that. While we were there we saw people coming to check in from noon up until 2am. The family does their very best to meet and greet and care for your needs but part of that is running errands and such.
Breakfast is always pleasant and we were looking forward to the fluffy chocolate chip pancakes. We were not disappointed. Breakfast is not made to order but it is a nice fare to get you going for the day.
To boil it down Eden is perfect. Start with a nice breakfast, hit the Naragansett beaches all day long or a day trip to Newport, and come back to a relaxing evening at Eden by the fire pit or pass out in the hammocks.
To top it off, for our 2nd anniversary we were treated to a complimentary bottle of champagne by our wonderful hosts.
We'll be back next year no doubt!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank louisj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Beautiful B&B! My family and I have stayed here many times before to enjoy the nearby RI shore-location is excellent!-This time we stayed at Eden Manor as a stop during college visits-very convenient locale to Mass, NJ and more. The owners, Bernadette and Lloyd, and their courteous children go out of their way to make us comfortable; their warmth and hospitality are unmatchable-Buffet breakfast has many offerings-not your typical continential breakfast-The grounds are peaceful; The Inn is spacious and beautifully restored-each room is a piece of art-But you still feel at home and comfortable. In addition the inn is pet friendly-as i said What else could anyone ask for? We will return to Eden Manor and soon for sure.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank acj44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Pros: Rooms were nice and spacious. Buffet breakfast was very good with many offerings and plenty to eat; not your typical "continental" breakfast.
Cons: The website advertises "rooms with fireplace", but only when you get there do you find out that you're not allowed to use them. That was our biggest gripe. Very misleading. Also, we had to ask for ice both nights we were there, as well as having to ask for clean washcloths. In other words, there was no chambermaid service; garbage cans were not emptied.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdeluco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wakefield
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
2.9 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#3 of 8 in Narragansett
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#7 of 8 in Narragansett
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sheppard's Place
Sheppard's Place
#3 of 10 in Narragansett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Manor Bed and Breakfast

Property: Eden Manor Bed and Breakfast
Address: 154 Post Rd, Wakefield, South Kingstown, RI 02879-7501
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > South Kingstown > Wakefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eden Manor Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Eden Manor Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing