We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice sports bar with multiple televisions for those interested in sporting events.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rhody Joe's Saloon

Rhody Joe's Saloon
Ranked #58 of 73 Restaurants in Wakefield
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Rhody Joe's is the best sports bar in South County Rhode Island to watch a game and grab a burger! With 17 Flat Screens and 24 Beers on tap we're sure to have what you're looking for! Known for our award winning Chili's and Chowder, Rhody Joe's menu is full of great food! Check out our Calendar for a full list of upcoming specials and promo's. Rhody Joe's Sports.Bar.Grille of Wakefield, RI.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice sports bar with multiple televisions for those interested in sporting events.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant Rhody Joe's, formally known as Chelo's, restaurant has become an excellent sports bar. Multiple televisions for viewing sporting events. Food was very good, of course somewhat greasy as one would expect any sports bar but the quality was good and the service was excellent

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    21
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
98 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Decent food, terrible service!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Ate here for dinner and the food was average to just above average. The burgers were good, and so were the appetizers. The drinks were OK. Not consistent from day to day, it probably depends on who is making them which means they don't have a standard.

Our waiter was awful. He could've just been waiting on friends for all you could tell. He seemingly forgot what type of fries we ordered with each dinner, and came back before dinner came out to ask us which we had wanted with what again. We were also clearly his last table. We finished eating and got our boxes, he comes back to the table "Oh, what's that, I overheard you guys talking that you wanted dessert?". No, not quite. He promptly brought us our check and no soonder did we cash out, he had his coat on and was running out the door.

Also, the booth next to us was filled with employees lounging/eating/drinking on/off shift and watching the football game that was on. I can understand popping out to check the score, but this seemed obnoxious and the manager OK with it. I don't understand why a manager would want to take up bar booth space for employees. Other restaurants I've eaten at, employees typically do this much out of sight of the customer.

This place, while the food was decent, probably won't be getting another visit from me. The service/atmosphere just didn't cut it for me.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NeviTales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
132 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not our speed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

The food was mediocre, and the atmosphere was far from our style. The place was loud, and the tables were made of what seemed like stainless steel. The whole time I was there I had the feeling like at anytime someone could come over and drop a motor cycle engine at our table and begin to work on it.

I can remember there use to be a nice restaurant here years ago called the '108 House'... Shame it's gone now.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Timothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a standby place when cooking for dinner is out. Good food, good selection and great service. Kid friendly.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food, huge college crowd”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

This place is not bad. They serve a very American menu and the food is usually good. The restaurant is a popular hang out with the University of RI college kids so it gets very loud in there at night. They are reasonably priced. They often have coupons in the newspaper, too.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beau S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhody Joe's Saloon also viewed

Wakefield, South Kingstown
Wakefield, South Kingstown
 
Wakefield, South Kingstown
Wakefield, South Kingstown
 
Wakefield, South Kingstown
Wakefield, South Kingstown
 

Been to Rhody Joe's Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing