We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dinner”
Review of Moulin Rouge

Moulin Rouge
Ranked #7 of 37 Restaurants in Tiverton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kelso, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Older building, simple decor. Food on the other hand was very good. Salad was fair, the meal was great. I had the fillet mignon flambé with green beans, some kind of beet dish and Boulanger potatoes. Paired with a nice Merlot. The restaurant was busy so a reservation is best. The meal was $30 a pop but to me it was worth it. Service was excellent.

Helpful?
1 Thank Darsik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    23
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Old decor with tried and true menu”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Moulin has not changed it's interior for years, it isn't a bad thing. The quality continues now as it has in the past with some great changes regarding specials. Entrees are complete with multiple vegetables and a starch. The prices are competitive with other restaurants with a similar style.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steve f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food is out of this world but I feel like I'm at my grandma's cottage...”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

The food is my favorite... Every bite my eyes roll into the back of my head out of pure euphoria! The food is amazing!!! The atmosphere... Ugh. It's too much like home. I suggest requesting seating in the very back of the house to the left. All though... The wait staff does have a station there and if napkins are being folded , you'll hear all of them chatting... The food keeps me coming back but the prices don 't match the atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsJuliaOlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Nothing to Complain About”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We dine at The Moulin Rouge every now and then when we receive a gift certificate. The food quality, and the service from the waitstaff is always top notch. The food is excellent, and the prices reasonable. We really should frequent this wonderful restaurant more often!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scooter105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Mediocre food at an inflated price”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Six of us ate at the Moulin Rouge on a Thursday night. It was good we were able to get in. The servers were good but not great, certainly not the caliber this restaurant would like. The food was wonderful in the reading, but not so wonderful in the tasting. Yes, the menu was accurate. No, the flavors just weren’t there.
Of the 6 meals, the rack of lamb came closest to being good. However, it was overcooked and served medium-well. Personally, I believe medium-well rack of lamb to be a cardinal sin. Two of us had the sautéed lobster. It was a tasteless mess served in a bowl with bad bread crumbs on top. It was soggy and overly buttered. The scallops were breaded and deep fried at too low a temperature and were soaked in oil. The scallops had no taste. I would never consider eating there again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CommanderChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moulin Rouge also viewed

 

Been to Moulin Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing