We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in the area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gray's Ice Cream

Gray's Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Tiverton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
164 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Don't be afraid to try flavors like Ginger for a pleasant surprise. Gray's standard flavors are rich and creamy, and not full of air. A local favorite for a long time for good reason. Shop the many little stores in this quaint neighborhood before your ice cream.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    29
    16
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
146 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“I love Gray's but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

OK, I love Gray's Ice Cream, I've been going here for the past 30 years. They have good home made ice cream, and I'll admit it's very tasty. I've never had a flavor there I didn't love. I'll admit, the ice cream is a little bit expensive, a small cone is $3.50 currently. I understand we are paying a little bit for the experience and the quality. If price is an issue, just head down the street to Helger's, their ice cream is pretty good too, and you'll save some money.

One thing that really upset me recently is that I heard they are discontinuing my favorite flavor there, Peanut Butter Cup! It's by far my favorite flavor, and it's very popular. During my entire life of going here, they've always had it. Why discontinue it? Lets just hope they bring it back so I can keep going here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SomePersonHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious Ice Cream Worth a Line”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Yes there can be a line at Grays but it moves quickly. Favorite flavors include Black Raspberry, Peach, Oreo and Butter Crunch. The ice cream is extremely creamy and can melt quickly on a hot day so be sure to lick quick if you get a cone. They are generous with their scoops so a small is more than enough.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HalvaTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great ice cream spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Expect long lines in the summer but well worth it. Mocha Chip used to be my favorite flavor but now they have Black Raspberry Chip - need to taste more to decide which is best!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Xpuha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream in the World!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I know that sounds a little over the top but Gray's makes their own Ice Cream and they do it better than anyone. I avoid eating dessert but I never, ever pass up a cone or shake (or frappe as it is known in New England) when I am at Gray's. Gray's is so good, that I actually planned an entire vacation day so that I could make multiple stops here. My family loves it, my friends love, and apparently all of Tiverton and Little Compton love it because this place is always packed. Do yourself a favor and stop in. You will see that I am not exaggerating in the least!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cprsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gray's Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Gray's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing