We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Closed!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanson's Pub - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hanson's Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Closed!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Unfortunately, Hanson's Pub is closed, and a new restaurant, TwoTen Oyster Bar & Grill, has opened in its place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank suezquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
“Hidden gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

New menu, great flood for a reasonable price. New manager. Awesome views, looking forward to coming back. How many Restaurants are on the water in southern RI, not many, hidden gem!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Teefysk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
194 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Average Pub Food....Great View”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We've tried all of the various iterations of this local spot for many years...mainly because the location is ideal. You feel like you're dining on a boat, looking out over the Salt Pond, and it's always entertaining watching the action at the boat ramp nearby. We stopped by on a Saturday evening to sample this newest version, and came away wondering how long it will last. The menu is a mixture of tried and true pub selections, with a very limited list of entrees. This restaurant isn't about fine dining. The burgers were average, but tasty. Requests for 'medium' cheeseburgers were served with barely pink interiors. The fries were borderline soggy, but again, tasty. The service was friendly and efficient, although there were few tables occupied at 6 PM. The bar looked well-stocked, and was starting to fill up as we left.
We'll return to listen to the weekend musical entertainment (Starts at 8PM Fri-Sat, 3PM Sun), and to enjoy the view over a few drinks. Perhaps we'll sample a few more items from the menu, and hope this version of Hanson's last past Labor Day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, RI
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The "New Hanson's Pub - Under New Management - June 2013!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Wow...what a change from what it used to be. The "NEW Management" has done a terrific job. Please don't read the "OLD" reviews. The place looks fantastic and food is terrific and so is the new staff. The place has been cleaned up. Please give it another try. My husband and I have already been back at least 5 times. We have been for lunch, dinner,and drinks downstairs at the bar while there was entertainment. Even the entertainment we heard on a recent Sunday afternoon was great. Give Hanson's a try and if you visited in the past, please give it another try. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We love the NEW Hanson's!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The new menu was definitely a step up from the previous menu (especially their chowder) but more importantly the service was 5 star! My husband and I have been dining @ Hanson's for years and were pleasantly surprised by the completely different atmosphere. They get our 2 thumbs up!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank rhodeislandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanson's Pub also viewed

Wakefield, South Kingstown
Wakefield, South Kingstown
 
West Kingston, South Kingstown
South Kingstown, South County
 
Wakefield, South Kingstown
South Kingstown, South County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing