We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a surprise”

Tara's Tipperary Tavern
Ranked #18 of 116 Restaurants in South Kingstown
Cuisines: American, Irish
Restaurant details
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This is a surprise”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I visited the USA recently and as I had not seen Tara for some years decided to pop in and say hello. After driving up from New York, I was hungry and decided to have a burger from her menu, what a selection for a little pub? The food was excellent and really good value. We were served by Karen (who is one in a million). If you are in Rhode Island and want a day at the beach, head for Tara's. A decent meal, a pint of the black stuff and a warm welcome from Tara and her team and if your lucky some good music too, this is a gem of a place

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry2743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great fun”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Lots of music and fun. Great session night at the pub. We were made to feel welcome. Hope to get back again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldLearner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland,ct
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good food, great ocean view with deck”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

beer expensive for the most part, food good, the view is outstanding. right on the ocean with upper decks

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank scotlandfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deatsville, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Beach Bar”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I love this place! I grew up in Green Hill (3 miles away) and used to frequent it during summer college breaks. After joining the military, I would often come home and always made sure I made a trip here regardless of the season. Now, I'm coming back to RI and I'm looking for places close to Tara's. I found a nice cotttage about 4 doors down and my wife and I had a fantastic week. We just relaxed on the beach during the day with our dogs and enjoyed an excellent Irish Pub at night less than 1 minute away. Tara has really transformed "Joyce's" for the better--the food is excellent, the music is great and of course, the beer is cold. I particularly liked the Uva wing.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank B52Moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rotten service”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The worst service I have ever had with a dining experience. The red head bar back was miserable, rude and condescending towards my party of 6. I will never go back based on her attitude considering who hired her.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank stushu45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tara's Tipperary Tavern also viewed

Wakefield, South Kingstown
South Kingstown, South County
 
South Kingstown, South County
South Kingstown, South County
 
Wakefield, South Kingstown
Narragansett, South County
 

Been to Tara's Tipperary Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing