We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel that S. Kingstown has to offer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn South Kingstown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Kingstown
Charlton, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Hotel that S. Kingstown has to offer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Just returned from a couples weekend.....this was my second time staying at this hotel. It may not be perfect, but it is definately the best you can get in the area. Clean rooms, comfortable beds and very friendly staff....Nice large outdoor pool with plenty of sun and shade areas. Sparkling pool and nice landscaped grounds.Walking distance to Dunkin doughnuts and subway for a quick bite. The only thing I no longer recomend is the restaurant (Liliana's) attached to the hotel.....please see my review for the awful details. I cannot wait to return to this hotel again in August

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 1st floor with slinding door to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
We are always glad to hear that our guests enjoyed our pool and hotel. Our staff is pleased to k ow they have met your expectations and look forward to having you back at our hotel.
Regards
Doug Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    60
    54
    16
    21
See reviews for
64
36
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
206 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Having just stayed in the same chain hotel the week before, I was surprised at the difference between the hotels. Both had recent upgrades and I could not complain about the service at either hotel.
I arrived late to the South Kingstown Holiday Inn. It was raining and I was disappointed that the overhang in front of the hotel doors were blocked off for traffic leaving us to unpack and run through a parking lot late at night in the pouring rain.
Once inside, the hotel lobby was very spacious, clean and nice. The desk clerk was very efficient and pleasant. I told her I needed to find the block island ferry early the next morning and she gave me a preprinted sheet with directions.
Another couple were checking in before us and we met them in the hall as they carried their dripping luggage to their room on the first floor. The elevator for the building is located on the other side of the building. A word of advice, park close to your room! I opted to stay in the front parking lot because my vehicle was full of boxes for my daughters wedding and the front lot seemed to be well lit. When I asked the desk clerk about security, she reassured me that the local PD drove through a few times a night. I figured it best to keep the truck in the front in case they didn't come in and drive around the entire building.
The room was very decorated well and the linens were good quality. We always check the beds for bedbugs and were pleased to see the beds were clean, but the floor next to the bed was littered with someone's toe nail clippings. Yuk.... but the rest of the room was obviously vacuumed, so obviously an oversight on the maid staff.
I had forgotten some items in the vehicle, so I had to hike back across the hotel to the elevator and back across the length of the hotel again to get out the front door. While doing this, the couple who checked in with us were back in the hall with their luggage. Seems the room they checked into had been occupied and dirty, they were heading up to the second floor and also complaining about how far away the elevator was! In all honesty, the long distance to the elevator wouldn't have seemed like such a big issue if it had not been so late at night and we had all been driving in the rain for some distance.
The beds were comfortable with a nice selection of pillows. The air exchange units were efficient and quiet. Something I'm particular about as the banging of those units can keep me away all night!
I was traveling with my daughter, so in the morning 3 bath towels between us left me with the hand towel for my long hair. This room was only supplied with shampoo and I didn't have much time at that point to call down and wait for conditioner to be delivered. These are the little details that you enjoy when they are there and miss when they are not.
I like Holiday Inn's rapid checkout...they send a preprinted bill under your door, you sign it and simply leave it at the desk. I do wish they they reused the cardboard pocket folder that the bill is enclosed in. Ours had our room number written on it and I noticed the desk clerk tossed it in the trash. Seems like a waste of money and resources, but that is my own issue.
Here comes my big problem...In the morning, all the cones blocking off the lobby overhang were gone. No evidence of construction, so now I'm thinking they only block it off at night. Lugging my soaked clothes from the night before in a plastic bag, I really wasn't happy to see this. My suggestion would be to leave the overhang open during bad weather. It really made a difference to me on a rainy night.
I would probably try another hotel next time I take the early ferry. This was nothing special or out of the ordinary and a bit inconvenient with all the walking after such a long trip to get there. I must commend the desk staff, both the evening and morning person was very pleasant and efficient. Having just stayed at another Holiday Inn the week before, I know it can be better. I have avoided this chain for many years, staying instead at the Sheraton or Radisson. I like the middle of road hotels that have good linens, are clean, safe and offer room service. This particular hotel just didn't come close enough to the line of satisfaction.

Room Tip: Park at the outside door closest to your room. The hotel elevators are NOT centrally located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freebirdVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear freebirdVT,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am pleased you found our staff services efficient. Please accept my sincerest apology for any inconvenience the construction may have caused. We appreciate you bringing this into our attention as this is our best resource of improving guest services.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had a very good stay; your staff is well trained and extremely curteous and pleasant.

If I may I have 2 items to add that may enhance your hotel; 1) Room should have at least a flyer showing the hotel amenities and restaturant.

2) The hallways should be clear of dishes; we left the hotel at 11 am on a Sunday and there were two big trays with the plates from the breakfast oreder; we return to the hotel about 4:30 pm and the trays were still on the hallway.

We will stay at the Holiday Inn again and will recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAVIMOODEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sknri, Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments and suggestions. We will certainly address the issues you have raised to make sure that your next visit with us will be as enjoyable as your first visit. We look forward to having you stay with us in the futures.

Regards

Doug Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The property is in good repair and was about standard for a Holiday Inn but the staff made this a much better than average stay. Everyone from the front desk, the bartender in the lounge and housekeeping were remarkably friendly and helpful. If I have any suggestions it would be that the excercise room was just 3 cardio machines and no weights but that's pretty minor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burrfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sknri, Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Our staff will be very happy to hear of your wonderful comments. Thank you
Regards
Doug Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed while at the university of rhode island. Hotel is very close. Staff extreme friendly and Doug on the desk was great with directions to a local restaurant and gave us plenty of ideas of places to see. Thank you
Room was comfortable, a bit dated and old in appearance bit very clean. I will be back due to the great and friendly staff

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sknri, Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn. We are very glad to know how great the staff was and we look forward to you staying again with us in the future.
Regards
Doug Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont,Ma
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 1 night w/ sisters for family get together @my cousins home. After we made our reservation,we noticed a entertainment card discount! We. Stayed for 85. The room. W. vy nice,bathroom ok, pool view ,but not open. We went to the. Lobby for. Breakfast ,Iordered. Eggs,bacon,e.muffin,,ok, muffin undercooked & 10.oo a little high! I would have. Preferred to go to Dunnkins which is walking distance. Lobby &. Front entrance. Could use a little. Cleanup, sofa. Worn. Overall. Ok. For. Few days

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KAD56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sknri, Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you back in the future.
Regards
Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Granby, CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We got a very good rate for this hotel on Hotwire for a Mother/Daughter getaway. We spent two nights and had a very good experience. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The room was nice and the beds were quite confortable. The only thing I would say that is negative about the room is that the bathroom was on the smaller side. The water pressure in the shower was perfect. We found this hotel to be centrally located. We did not try the restaurant at the hotel as we ate while we were out sightseeing. I would suggest that they put something outside by the trash cans for cigarette butts. All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sknri, Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Thank you for your comments and suggestions. We were very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
Doug Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Kingstown
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
4.5 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#3 of 8 in Narragansett
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Providence North Kingstown
4.8 mi away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#7 of 8 in Narragansett
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
4.9 mi away
Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn
Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn
#1 of 2 in Jamestown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn South Kingstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn South Kingstown

Property: Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Address: 3009 Tower Hill Rd, Route 1 and Route 138, South Kingstown, RI 02874-1504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > South Kingstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Kingstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn South Kingstown 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn, South Kingstown, a AAA 3 Diamond full service hotel located just 5 miles from Narragansett Beach and 9 miles from downtown Newport. We offer 107 spacious guest rooms, an Italian restaurant and lounge (children 12 and under eat free in our restaurant) a beautiful outdoor pool and patio area, room service options, wireless Internet throughout the property, complimentary newspapers, an exercise and laundry room, and superior guest service.The University of Rhode Island, the Ryan Center, many restaurants, shops, the Block Island Ferry, great fishing, kayaking and bicycling trails are all within minutes of the hotel. Relax, It s Holiday Inn, where Kids Stay and Eat Free. The Holiday Inn, South Kingstown welcomes you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn South Kingstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn South Kingstown Hotel South Kingstown
South Kingstown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing