We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Impressed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn South Kingstown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Kingstown
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Booked a night here as it was close to the University. The elevator was located some distance from the lobby, inconvenient and as we were on the second floor we decided to use the stairs. There was a strong, unpleasant odor in the stairwell each time we used it ( it smelled like urine to me). The hallways had a lingering musky, unclean smell as well. Our room appeared to be clean , bathroom was adequate. In the middle of the night I attempted to turn on the heat and woke up everyone in the room with the sound of the heater's fan. It was very loud and rattled as though there was something stuck inside the fan. I had to turn it off and remain chilly so we could sleep. The experience was what I might expect from a much cheaper chain hotel. I might have been okay with it if it HAD been a cheaper chain hotel, but for the price and brand, it was not a good value. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonyaCheerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sknri, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you for taking time to provide helpful feedback regarding your stay during the Cheerleading competition. We will certainly check into the issues you raised and make sure that they are corrected.
Regards
Doug Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    60
    54
    16
    21
See reviews for
64
36
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
flemington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

This is a great place if u need somewhere to spend a few days. Very clean, room is nice, bathroom is good but small. Restaurant is closed in winter but they have a very basic continental breakfast. Would stay here again for sure if I needed a room

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovetheBlueWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sknri, Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments. The staff will be happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and we look forward to having you back to our hotel.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

I have now stayed at this hotel five times over the last two years. Each stay has been as good as the other. It is a pleasure to know in advance, what you will be getting. In this case of this hotel, it is all good.

If you are in this area. Stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelGuyNY64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sknri, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stays with us. The staff is pleased to hear that we have met and exceeded your expectations each time. We look forward to having back as our guests.
Regards
Doug Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fryeburg, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel on a few occasions. The property is very clean, employees are pleasant and the restaurant food was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank candlelady102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sknri, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
The staff is glad to know that you had a wonderful experience with our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a wedding nearby. I booked reservations over the telephone with excellent customer service. Upon arrival check-in service was fast, we had no trouble settling into the room and everything was clean and the bed was comfortable. The property is easy to access from a main road and there is a Dunkin Donuts sharing the parking lot. I felt that the price I paid was reasonable enough and was less expensive than the competitor down the street.

We didn't need to make any major requests, but the staff were helpful with anything we asked of them

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happysquirrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sknri, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

You are not right at the beach-- you do have drive a distance to get there. Basically, this is an on-the-highway hotel. You get a fair amount of noise from the parking lot-- doors slamming, loud voices, etc. The rooms are nothing special, ceilings are low, nothing pretty mundane with just average beds. Inside the hallways are long long long long-- to get to some rooms you have to go what seems a mile to get to the elevator to take you to your floor. Small pool. I would only stay there again if there was really nothing else available.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoneNamedYet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sknri, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the hotel. We hope you had a great time while visting the South County Area and enjoyed the beaches and local shopping.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Before going here I have always had a high opinion about Holiday Inn's, and frankly from the outside, the hotel looks very nice.

We were forced to say here as there was nowhere else available - $170 for 2 people for one night. This was after labour day so I was hoping it'd be a bit cheaper. I don't know how they could possibly come up with such a high price for what they are offering - either South Kingstown is a more popular destination than NYC or this hotel must be the ultimate experience. And judging by the quality of the hotel, if anything the former statement has more truth about it!

The keys we were given at check-in did not work, so we returned to reception. Before acknowledging us, the girl at reception felt it necessary to finish off the sentence she was writing in her diary. Eventually got some working keys, and got to the room (kind of difficult to get lost anywhere else since there aren't many facilities in the place!)

The halls and lift were stained quite a bit and looked extremely old and tired.

The room was clean-ish and did not smell. If this was a motel, I'd consider the cleanliness good. But not for the price we were paying. Sheets were fresh and perfectly clean, but some of the furniture had stains on it, and the bathroom had a spots of mould and a couple of hairs.
Worst thing was the tops of the lampshades which clearly serve as a top holiday resort for dust, along with the air conditioning vent which was growing things that I'm sure are as of yet undiscovered by scientists.

TV worked, as did all the lights. Good water pressure etc. as one would hope. Bed was comfy and we got a good night's sleep so that we could make a rapid escape in the morning.
The hotel did their part in helping us have an efficient check-out by not including breakfast in the price so as not to slow down our progress out of there!


So.. in summary. If you're going here on a business trip and aren't paying for it yourself, then don't worry too much - the hotel is fine. However, if you are going to pay for the hotel yourself, I suggest looking elsewhere. And then staying elsewhere!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sknri, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Thank you for your comments and suggestions regarding your stay with us. We will certainly check into the issue you had with your guestroom key not working. Our pricing is reflective of the area and being so close to Newport, the Block Island Ferry, and scenic beaches does make us the central hotel of choice when visiting the area.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Kingstown hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Kingstown
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
4.5 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#3 of 8 in Narragansett
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Providence North Kingstown
4.8 mi away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#7 of 8 in Narragansett
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
4.9 mi away
Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn
Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn
#1 of 2 in Jamestown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn South Kingstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn South Kingstown

Property: Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Address: 3009 Tower Hill Rd, Route 1 and Route 138, South Kingstown, RI 02874-1504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > South Kingstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Kingstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn South Kingstown 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn, South Kingstown, a AAA 3 Diamond full service hotel located just 5 miles from Narragansett Beach and 9 miles from downtown Newport. We offer 107 spacious guest rooms, an Italian restaurant and lounge (children 12 and under eat free in our restaurant) a beautiful outdoor pool and patio area, room service options, wireless Internet throughout the property, complimentary newspapers, an exercise and laundry room, and superior guest service.The University of Rhode Island, the Ryan Center, many restaurants, shops, the Block Island Ferry, great fishing, kayaking and bicycling trails are all within minutes of the hotel. Relax, It s Holiday Inn, where Kids Stay and Eat Free. The Holiday Inn, South Kingstown welcomes you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn South Kingstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn South Kingstown Hotel South Kingstown
South Kingstown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing