We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Problems, Clean Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Kingstown
Reviewed October 7, 2007

Needed a place to lay my head one night near Newport, RI...this hotel is across the bridge from Newport and down Rt. 1 a bit, closer to the University of Rhode Island, so if you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel to stay near Newport, this would be the one. All of the hotels closer to Newport are high in price, even the cheaper chain hotels. Paid $75 through Priceline, even though people ahead of me in line were given a AAA rate of $183 with taxes....the room was perfectly acceptable, large king bed which was NOT comfortable though, and clean. Tea and coffee in the lobby all night. NO FREE internet access as is provided in a more upscale hotel. My room (#109) was right off lobby, near to where I parked, so easy access for me. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here, but wouldn't eat there (don't eat at Liliana's).

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sillygirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 207 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2007

Stayed here for 3 nights. The 2nd night the room simply had not been made up by the staff. At 0930pm, I advised the reception staff of two, asking to remedy the situation. They replied in a very unfriendly way, bluntly stating there was nobody around to make up rooms...

This hotel is being operated for Holiday Inn by TPG Hospitality.

All staff (other than an excellent barman) seem substantially below standard for the hospitality business.

Further, there is no breakfast buffet formula, making breakfast last unnecessarily long, with only one staff member attending in the breakfast area on 2 out of the 3 mornings, rushing like mad.

Room was charged at 144$ excluding taxes and breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tripper-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sknri, manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2009

THe hotel has since been renovated since yoru comments of 2007. We accommodate many guests each evening, and the principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to each at a reasonable price. A hotel is defined by the quality of service that it provides to its guests. Because our success is measured by how guests evaluate our service and facilities, I want you to know that your comments we received are taken quite seriously. They will tell us what we’re doing right and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated. Please be assured that the issues you have raised have been addressed, and that appropriate action has been taken. We take pride in our hotel, and do our best to prevent problems from reoccurring

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

Beds were really uncomfortable
windows in rooms don't open
was promised a fridge but had none when I got there
room had things left there from previous visitor

an overall bad expierience

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lyssob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sknri, manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2009

The holiday Inn has been renovated since the comments of 2007. Over the years we accommodate many guests each evening, and the principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to each at a reasonable price. A hotel is defined by the quality of service that it provides to its guests. Because our success is measured by how guests evaluate our service and facilities, I want you to know that your comments we received are taken quite seriously. They will tell us what we’re doing right and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated. Please be assured that the issues you have raised have been addressed, and that appropriate action has been taken. We take pride in our hotel, and do our best to prevent problems from reoccurring

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

We were traveling to Rhode Island for a wedding and choose to stay at the Holiday Inn where the groom had a block of rooms reserved. My husband and I were not expecting anything great - we just needed a place to sleep for a night. I must say that I was pleasantly surprised at the hotel and our room. The hotel was very trendy and the price was reasonable. Our room was very clean and roomy. The only downside was that our bed was as hard as a rock. We did however have a sliding glass door that led out to a lovely outdoor pool. The staff was very nice and helpful when we asked questions or needed additional towels in our room. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a reasonable place to stay in the Newport area.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AM1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2007

Remember staying there last March so details are foggy, but close to URI, went "off season" so it ws only about $70 a night, and they even
asked what "snack" you would like left in your room for the evening! Clean and no problems....

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank readytogo-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2006

We were checking out URI during our summer college tour and stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is doing a bit of outside updating and although the hotel looks like a construction site from the road we were never bothered by any of the work going on. The room was average and the staff fine. Nothing fancy just a nice clean hotel. The pool was nice but small. Not bad for a night or 2 and a good URI location.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank fruscib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2005

we have stayed at this Holiday Inn twice over the last 3 months and have found it perfectly fine for visiting the University of Rhode Island in Kingston, less than 10 minutes away. The hotel seems to have been renovated lately; rooms, including bathrooms, are clean and beds are comfortable. It is your "classic" Holiday Inn, nothing fancy but fine as a base for touring the area. A breakfast buffet is available in the restaurant (sometimes included in the rate) and a pool is located in the back. Note: coming to Rhode Island on I-95 from the south, it is probably easiest to reach this hotel from exit 3, onto Route 138, instead of the directions provided through the hotel website.

Stayed: September 2005
5  Thank tymelyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Kingstown
3 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
4.4 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#4 of 8 in Narragansett
89 reviews
7.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Providence North Kingstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
8.5 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
231 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#5 of 8 in Narragansett
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn South Kingstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn South Kingstown

Address: 3009 Tower Hill Rd, Route 1 and Route 138, South Kingstown, RI 02874-1504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > South Kingstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Kingstown
Price Range: $97 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn South Kingstown 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn, South Kingstown, a AAA 3 Diamond full service hotel located just 5 miles from Narragansett Beach and 9 miles from downtown Newport. We offer 107 spacious guest rooms, an Italian restaurant and lounge (children 12 and under eat free in our restaurant) a beautiful outdoor pool and patio area, room service options, wireless Internet throughout the property, complimentary newspapers, an exercise and laundry room, and superior guest service.The University of Rhode Island, the Ryan Center, many restaurants, shops, the Block Island Ferry, great fishing, kayaking and bicycling trails are all within minutes of the hotel. Relax, It s Holiday Inn, where Kids Stay and Eat Free. The Holiday Inn, South Kingstown welcomes you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn South Kingstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn South Kingstown Hotel South Kingstown
South Kingstown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing