We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy place”

Blackie's Bulldog Tavern
Ranked #1 of 75 Restaurants in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, Healthy, Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Oxford, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Cozy place”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We enjoyed our two back to back dinners there, good value, big portion, friendly service and quality food. It is also a tavern so it is casual and fun.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MTR5959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    64
    32
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Needham, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This place rocks. ”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

The food here is great. If your looking for cheap, then go somewhere else, but if you want great food in an awesome atmosphere. The menu changes seasonally fresh ingredients and wonderful flavor combos make it one of my favorite spots in RI.

Helpful?
Thank foodyMK20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, ME
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastice Fare”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is a great place to eat. Recently we shared some of their Flatbread Pizzas. The Power to the P and the Classic Red were two of my favorite. Wide variety of choices so you can't help find something to temp you. Angie is an awesome chef.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryWashington_ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Warwick, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We went to Blackie's on Wednesday night. I ordered the Short Rib Pappardelle and my fiancé had the Short Rib Shepherds Pie. Both were absolutely delicious! This is a very busy place and always packed. Can't wait to go back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank prissy1081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
472 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Good food but overwhelmed bar”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

On a recent Saturday night, we arrived at 7pm and were told there was a wait of 1 1/2 hours for a table. We waited in the bar area, but there was really no room to stand. Everywhere we stood, we seemed to be in the way of one server or another. It was a hassle to get a drink because the bartenders were so overwhelmed. They would actually take an order and forget to fill it.

Once we sat at a table, the experience improved. Our server was excellent. She offered suggestions and anticipated our needs before we did. The food was fantastic - our party had salmon, pork, short rib and macaroni and cheese entrees, which we all enjoyed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kris91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackie's Bulldog Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Blackie's Bulldog Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing