We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad for a Night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Smithfield - Providence
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Smithfield
Boise, Idaho ~ Providence, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not Bad for a Night”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The room was nice and clean. 2 beds, I think they were double/full size plus a pull out couch. Just was 2 of us though. Everything updated, clean and in good shape. We were in a group of rooms so the hotel staff were uncertain how many people were in our particular room and had made up the pull out which was nice of them since some hotels I know don't do that for their guests. Oddly enough, one of the beds was softer than the other, which was fine but amusing. I liked having the choice of bed firmness.

Breakfast was pretty decent in the morning as well. Good basic spread with plenty of options, good seating area and pretty well stocked. They also have a pretty well lit free parking lot, a swimming pool (I didn't get a chance to go), a little convenience shop for any odds and ends you may have forgotten or for the munchies. Friendly staff as well.

If I needed a hotel in this area again I would probably go here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank blumenla101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syasms, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Smithfield - Providence, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear blumenia101,
So glad you had a great stay! You're feedback gives us great encouragement and incentive to keep going to the next level of guest satisfaction. Our hotel is populated by associates that sincerely care about our guests and every day is a great accomplishment when we read about a guest having a great stay. Make sure you take a dip in the pool next time...there is nothing better than a heated indoor saltwater swimming pool to end or start a day. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    32
    15
    10
    7
See reviews for
23
14
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed for a night in December. The website cover picture made me nervous, but nothing to worry about. Standard HIE amenities. No complaints. Pleasant check in experience, very nice staff and good location. Not too far from Providence if that's where you are headed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for work. It is a very nice clean hotel. It's off the beaten path but only 1/2 mile from Bryant college. The staff was very helpful. My friend needed a light bulb for his car and the front desk went online to see if the nearby target store had one that fit. Breakfast in the morning is average but they have a good selection of hot and cold food. It has a pool which I did not use but it looked nice as well. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moosetalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I was staying here for a work trip. This hotel has easy access to two major highways in RI (146 and 295). Also, it's really close to the Lincoln and Smithfield Malls. There are lots of good places to eat within 10 miles.

The room was huge. The only downsides were: the temperature control fan is very noisy and the microwave is a bit small (can't pop a large bag of popcorn. However, the staff allowed me to use the kitchen microwave to pop my popcorn.

The room, bathroom, and hotel was very clean. The staff was friendly. Lots of tv channels and fast wifi.

Room Tip: A room with 2 Queens could easily have 5 people staying in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mell O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethpage NY
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We visited my daughter at Bryant for Parents weekend and I needed 3 rooms. The rooms are large and have granite counters and sitting areas with flat panel tv's. Coffee maker small fridge and micrwave are also in the rooms. The beds are very comfortable and the pillows are great. The room and the hotel are ext5remekly clean. The front desk is maybe the nicest person you can run into and they offer a free breakfast. There is also an indoor heated pool and fitness room and all of the above make it an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Len K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The staff at the front desk were kind and helpful....but that only goes so far with a dirty hotel. Stained carpets, moldy shower curtains and not leaving toilet paper when the roll is almost empty doesn't scream welcome and inviting in my book.

The breakfast offered each morning was average fare, but the coffee...ah... that was an adventure. Would it be strong enough to remove paint today? Or could I read a newspaper through it?

Would I return or recommend this property to a friend? Hmmm....at gunpoint, maybe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Smithfield - Providence, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Julie R,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am glad to know that you had a good experience with our front desk. I want to assure you that work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. Please accept my sincerest apology for falling short of your expectations on this day, especially with the overall condition of the room accommodations you received. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

You will get here the usual HI facilities and service, which was what we need for a one night stay on a road trip. Reception was very kind and quick upon our arrival. Breakfast was the usual selection from HI. We were unlucky to have some louder types of guest nearby and in the parking who made it difficult to go to sleep... the walls are surely not of the thickest type.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinvives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence/Smithfield
0.7 mi away
All Seasons Inn & Suites
All Seasons Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Smithfield
105 reviews
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Providence Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woonsocket
14.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warwick/Providence
13.5 mi away
NYLO Providence/Warwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Smithfield - Providence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Smithfield - Providence

Property: Holiday Inn Express and Suites Smithfield - Providence
Address: 1010 Douglas Pike, Smithfield, RI 02917-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Smithfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Smithfield - Providence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Smithfield - Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Smithfield - Providence Hotel Smithfield
Comfort Suites Smithfield
Smithfield Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing