We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible place”

Founder's Brook Motel & Suites
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Founder's Brook Motel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portsmouth
Beverly, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible place”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed with my husband and two kids. My mom and other family members also booked rooms and some walked out the moment they set foot inside. High $$ and dirty. We arrived late at night and didn't have the option of leaving. The room was large in size and terrible smells. It was very dirty and the furniture was very old and in some cases the beds were held together with plastic zip ties. The futon in our room and my mothers had stains and cigarette burns. Mold on the wall and strong chemical smell. Stains and bits of filth on the towels. No air flow and ancient ac unit. Lots of moths inside the room. Left early the next day.
I encourage you to find something better.

Room Tip: don't spend the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueberrymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    12
    6
    9
See reviews for
18
12
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

"Sketchy" place: sheets with hair/someone's dirty t-shirt hanging in bathroom/cobwebs/beds very old and uncomfortable/smell. Near noisy highway.
Room next to us had 6 men and something wasn't right with the goings on there...
VERY uncomfortable night, couldn't leave fast enough in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank travelswithfamily09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed at Founders Brook during a trip to Newport, RI. Having seen some negative reviews on Trip Advisor, we were kind of nervous and not sure what to expect but as soon as we drove in to the parking lot it was apparent that the property was clean and well kept. The grounds were large and well landscaped. The rooms are kind of small but clean. The property has several buildings with a few suites in each building. We chose to stay in a suite which was clean and comfortable. There was a front room with a kitchenette and a small bedroom in the back. The suite can accommodate 4 people. There is no pool or restaurant but there are several waterfront restaurants nearby. It is a no frills kind of place but it is clean and the rates are much lower than most Newport hotels. Good for families.
For a few dollars more than the rooms, the suites are a good value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kay16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We had stayed there on a recommendation of a friend who had stayed there many times five or six years ago. They had said it was neat, clean, and convienient. We arrive early for a Wedding in the area and asked if could just change our clothes. The room wasn't ready, but she could give us a suite for $10 more which was available. I said that would be fine and went to the room. The room had a funny smell when we came in, so we turned on the a/c. It was a smaller unit patched into the wall with some daylight on the edges, which the manager told us about. The place was tired (moldings scratched up by a dog and just painted over, soap dish falling out of the wall, stained carper, and just old fashion furniture and appliances) it needed a complete renovation, but we were just going to sleep there. When we returned to the room after midnight, and went to go to sleep, things got worse. I pulled the blanket back and found a hard shell bug, then under further inspection there was stains on the blanket, didn't know if they were blood, chocolate or feces. We pulled all the covers back and slept on top of the bed with our clothes on. The next morning I stop by the front desk and told them of our night and they were very apologetic and blamed the housekkeepers. They gave me a $20 refund. I won't use this motel again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank latabata31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

My family of 5 recently stayed 2 nights. We were in town to spend time with friends and were interested in the cheapest, most spacious accomodations we could get. We were actually quite pleased with the Founders Brooke Suite. No... it's not the usual 5 star vacation spot we generally go for. But it was clean enough, quiet (it's near a busy highway but we never heard the traffic though we were in suite #10 - closest to the road), it was a quick 15 minute trip to the Newport Beach and Cliff Walk, and just under half an hour to Providence. A few minor items were a little wobbly (lamp above bed, soap dish in bathroom), but we didn't care. We just slept there. The staff was accomodating (we asked for directions here and there, and extra towels and washcloths). If you're looking for an inexpensive place to sleep that can accomodate 5 people that's within a half hour to almost everything you want to see in Newport or Providence - I recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarloD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Given the cost of this place we would not have stayed here if we had not been desperate. It was getting late and our family motorcycle group had not been able to find vacancies in the Newport area. We saw this place and the grounds did look okay so we stopped and took three units.

The owner/manage insisted the only units she had were efficiencies and charged a premium for those. Although a living room/kitchen with a separate bedroom would have been great for an extended stay, the extra room was not needed for just the single night we needed.

Our unit had spoiled food in the frig which I set on the stoop and when I called the office about it, the food was disposed of immediately with sincere apologies. However, if the frig was overlooked when cleaning, what else was overlooked? I chose not to dwell on that thought as I did want to get at least a few hours of sleep.

We did not see any of those 'great restaurants nearby' that previous reviewers mentioned. We ended up ordering delivery pizza.

Would I stay again? No way. I would make sure I booked in advance if coming to this area and not have to rely on last minute desperation choices.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

On or about 6/9/10 I contacted several Rhode Island chambers of commerce inquiring about affordable motels with weekly discount rates in and around the Newport, RI, area, stressing quiet as my prime objective. I was supplied with several dozen possibilities; all of which I contacted. Staff at the Founder's Brook Motel claimed that their rooms were in a quiet serene setting far back and away from any traffic or major roads. In the spirit of good faith and good business I confirmed such a "quiet" room for 7/8/10 to 7/15/10. Upon arrival, however, I immediately noted that said staff had lied to me in an attempt to lure me and take my money under false pretenses; to wit, the motel's rooms are directly adjacent to a very busy, very noisy highway. I immediately complained and asked to be moved to a quieter location since all of the quieter units farthest from the noisy highway were unoccupied, stressing all. The owner of the motel (male - name unknown) then phoned me some four (4) days later on 7/12/10 at which point I reiterated how his staff had deliberately deceived me, rummaged through my toiletries when I was not present, and placed me in a very noisy room with cigarette burns in the carpet and on the bed spread, blood stains on the bed sheets, and a non-functional refrigerator, microwave oven, telephone and television set. The owner seemed nonplussed, uncaring and unwilling to move me to a quieter room despite all such rooms being unoccupied with, according to G.S., no reservations to fill (any of) them before 7/15/10. The owner then said that he would move me if I agreed to pay $59+ more per night. Given the circumstances of being deceived by his staff, and despite all such rooms being unoccupied, the owner refused to move me without my incurring additional cost prior to rudely hanging up on me. I paid $48.42 (incl. tax) per night for 7 nights, yet the owner only offered a refund of $40 for only my remaining nights despite my having paid in full and in advance and being out of town with nowhere else to go. The owner acted in a greedy, unethical, disrespectful manner with zero semblance of care, concern, honor or integrity. In essence I was lied to and robber...and then ignored and disrespected when I brought the matter to their attention. The rooms are nasty, infested, stained, odorous, and right next to a busy highway. Every morning I am awakened at around 6:00 a.m. to the thundering vibrations from transit buses, 18-wheelers, and noisy trucks, cars and motorcycles. Vacations are supposed to be pleasant and enjoyable. The staff and owner of Founder's Brook Motel, however, ruined my vacation by way of induced stress, sleepless nights, anger, depression and disappointment. I actually had to buy (and use) earplugs, wrap my head with a towel, and run 2 fans on high in an attempt to get some sleep...to no avail.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blueboy859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
3.5 mi away
Bristol Harbor Inn
Bristol Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Bristol
185 reviews
7.1 mi away
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
6.8 mi away
Newport Ambassador Inn & Suites
7.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Founder's Brook Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Founder's Brook Motel & Suites

Property: Founder's Brook Motel & Suites
Address: 314 Boyds Ln, Portsmouth, RI 02871-3004
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Founder's Brook Motel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Founder's Brook Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Founder`s Brook Hotel Portsmouth
Founder`s Brook Motel And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing