We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Scampi

Scampi
Ranked #6 of 42 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: $14 - $29
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Scampi, an Italian Seafood Grille, offers beautiful water views of Sakonnet River enhancing your dining experience. Whether you crave a cup of New England Clam Chowder, fresh grilled pizza, local seafood or a hearty steak dinner, Scampi's newly revised menu has something for everyone. Whether you sit on the patio or in our spacious dining room, Scampi offers a relaxed atmosphere mixed with affordable dining. Join us for dinner, football Sunday or cocktails and music on Friday evenings! Plan your special celebration in our new private dining room now available for up to 60 guests.
Newport, Rhode Island
2 reviews
“Great location, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

I love seafood, hubby loves chops and steaks, great for both. Fresh seafood( I am picky), sauces are amazing.
Great staff, indoor and outdoor seating, casual or fancy whatever you want it to be!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jvoorhis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    31
    10
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great seafood and scenic view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Their seafood is great. The service is also great. You can either dine in or out and you have a spectacular view of the ocean.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Purplelady211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dighton, MA
Level Contributor
160 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Not worth the $$$$”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Easter Sunday , party of 10 , cost $498 , 3 of us ordered Leg of Lamb. It was baaaad ! It looked like pot roast was overlooked and had no flavor! Wine was pricey$30/bottle mark west Pinot noir. Service was good, I sent my plate back and received a prime rib instead, much better choice. They weren't crowded but took a long tine on everything. We won't be back,

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jptreacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Horrible!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We were the only people In there ordered drinks calamari which was so greasy it left a film in your mouth of old grease! The shrimp scampi was good nothing special shrimp was fresh! We ordered a bottle of Santa margarita Pinot Grigio once she came back to the table brought us the house brand once we corrected her and said we ordered the SM she said oh ok but u know its $55 dollars right?? Clearly we did if we ordered it for a reason! Can't forget they don't have bottle chillers either for wine!! Will never go back!!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Croses2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Food is good but pricy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

It is a nice place to eat, but don't expect any bargains. The food is made well and tasty. Since they changed over owners, the portions were smaller on the appetizers, no sharing! Expect to pay $20 or more per person.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baranclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scampi also viewed

 

Been to Scampi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing