We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveler rating
49
6
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dairy farm granola rhode island short distance wedding party each morning my son and daughter in law no idea great place to stay surrounding area is stayed upstairs rooms are comfortable stress free lawn games home away from home cows being milked newport area
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 55 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2018

My wife and I were married in Bristol, Rhode Island and had our rehearsal luncheon of about 60 people at Escobar's Farmhouse Inn the day before. Dawn (the innkeeper) was in a word: perfect. My wife and I grew up in Rhode Island but relocated to California about a year before the wedding. Obviously we assumed that planning a wedding from across the country would be a nightmare but Dawn showed that she has more than enough experience in event planning and eased our minds.

From the first time we spoke with her we could tell that our rehearsal was in good hands. We met with her in person for the first time about a week before the luncheon and she treated us like family. We had focused so much on the wedding planning that when we met with Dawn and she reviewed her plan with us we were floored by the amount of detail she had gone into which we had forgotten to consider. She had decorations picked out, serving trays, plates, cutlery, displays, and even a few lawn games to keep people entertained. She had ideas of where everything would be set up and after asking us a couple of questions on what we would prefer she knew how everything was going to be incorporated together. We had gone into that first meeting expecting to have to make more decisions and explain how we thought everything should go and within 20 minutes of talking to Dawn we had complete trust in whatever decisions she wanted to make. The event was beautiful and we were able to step back and let Dawn take over - a welcome relief a day before the wedding.

In addition to our Rehearsal Luncheon, we also rented the entire Inn for the wedding party to stay in. We had a total of 16 people staying in the different rooms of the Inn and based on our experience and from what we heard afterwards from our friends, everyone enjoyed the experience immensely. My wife and I stayed downstairs in the Mary room which was beautifully decorated and allowed us the peace and quiet we were looking for. The majority of the wedding party was split between the Katherine Suite and the Walter Room upstairs. We stayed the night before the wedding (the night of the rehearsal) and the night of the wedding. The night of the rehearsal we were able to enjoy the outside of the Inn including the fire pit in the back yard. Dawn had gotten us supplies to make s’mores and we roasted marshmallows and had some adult beverages until we were ready for bed. Dawn made breakfast for us both mornings and had everything we could imagine from pancakes, to fruit, to bacon and sausage, to frittatas. Everything was delicious and we were able to enjoy our breakfast outside on the porch and in the backyard area.

The entire weekend was beautiful and went off better than we could have expected. We would absolutely stay at Escobar’s again and would recommend it to anyone who is looking to stay or looking to host an event in the Portsmouth/Bristol/Newport area.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffD2461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2018

My son and daughter-in-law booked the Farmhouse Inn for their wedding party and out-of-town guests for Labor Day Weekend, 2017, and that's where their rehearsal luncheon was held. While we didn't stay there, i can tell you that the innkeeper (Dawn) made us feel like welcome guests for the luncheon. We were the "hosts" as parents of the groom, and worked with Dawn on the planning for the event. She was extremely helpful, and made things go so smoothly! When the caterers arrived almost an hour late, she jumped right in to set the food up inside the farmhouse while we all socialized outdoors in the beautiful yard, playing corn hole and catch.
The rooms themselves are lovely, and the outdoor area is just gorgeous and the perfect setting for a large group. She set up tables and chairs and tents and took care of making sure drinks were cold and food was warm and pleasantly presented.
I'll have to leave it to the actual overnight guests to give their review, but we could't have been happier with the facilities and service for our event, and highly recommend Escobar's Farmhouse Inn for a large group.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Service
Thank FandE401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EscobarsFarmhouseInn, Innkeeper at Escobar's Farmhouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2018

It was truly our pleasure having Jeff, Carissa and their clan at the Inn! Such an awesome group of people!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately we were only able to stay 1 night. Awesome renovated farmhouse that is super clean with hardwood floors. What makes this place special is Dawn the innkeeper. She's a special person with a servants heart. She gave us great suggestions for places to see and where to go for dinner. The breakfast was beyond awesome ... well balanced with fruit, yogurt, and granola ...plus a tasty quiche ...with BACON that was all exceptionally prepared. It was nice to visit with Dawn to learn about the history of the Escobar farm. We'll be back!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank ker_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EscobarsFarmhouseInn, other at Escobar's Farmhouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2018

It was truly my pleasure having you and your wife as our guests at the Inn! Looking forward to your next stay! Warmest regards, Dawn~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017

My in-laws and I took over the Inn for 3 days and had a wonderful time. Dawn handled all questions, issues, changes, tours, and restaurants, along with providing excellent breakfasts. The rooms were comfortable, and roomy. The location was perfect for visiting relatives and sight-seeing. The different-sized rooms allowed us to match up the family to their needs. If you want to save a few dollars from the high priced Newport hotels, this is an excellent alternative.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017

Newport can be incredibly expensive in Summer. A truly great stay is at Escobar's Farmhouse in nearby Portsmouth. It is a working farm, but the farmhouse is a bed and breakfast. The rooms are comfortable, and the farmhouse breakfast is what one would expect in a farmhouse.... Delicious... Dawn, the innkeeper, will greet you when you arrive and show you around. She is also responsible for the scrumptious breakfasts. It is a short drive into Newport. We normally come up once a year. We will stay here in the future.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin2736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews