We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Escobar's Farmhouse Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Escobar's Farmhouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

What a nice place to stay. So serene and relaxing. Stuart was such a wonderful innkeeper. Breakfast was wonderful, and being able to walk right over to the farm was a great plus! Everything was clean and neat... Beautiful, simply beautiful!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank C84williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Acton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in the Walter Room of Escobar's Farmhouse Inn. The innkeeper Stuart is welcoming and cooks beautiful delicious breakfasts. Everything about the Inn is beautiful and spacious. It is conveniently located to Newport and many area attractions. We will definitely stay there on our next trip to RI.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana2325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitinsville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The inn was immaculate and beautifully decorated but welcoming at the same time. We enjoyed the central location. One of our favorite parts was having our delicious and beautifully prepared breakfast brought up to us in our room. My husband and I love the charm of B &B's but do not like to rise early and have to socialize in the morning. Here we got the best of both worlds. Stuart was very accommodating and helpful. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KHAS41936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have read all the other reviews and can say they are right on point! This is truly a place you must stay if your in the area. We have stayed a total of 5 times now and have ALWAYS been completely satisfied! Words can not describe this place or how wonderful Stuart is, he does everything right in a B&B!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LandB802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Escobar's Farmhouse Inn after attending a family party in Portsmouth. We chose the inn based on it's proximity to the party. Little did we know that we would discover a place that we look forward to returning to again.

The inn is warm, inviting, and beautifully decorated. It is filled with an eclectic mix of furniture, fabric, books, lamps, and art., Everywhere you look, their is a new discovery!

We stayed in the Walter Room. It was spacious, clean, colorful, and comfortable.

The highlight of the visit was Stuart's amazing gourmet breakfast! The guests sat in the open kitchen enjoying pastries, juice, yogurt, tea, coffee, fruit, and lively conversation as he worked his magic by the stove, preparing the main course. In this relaxed, friendly setting, it was easy to forget that you were with strangers. When the main breakfast was served, we all gathered at the dining room table. My husband and I are both well-traveled and Stuart's breakfast definitely ranks on our "short list" of outstanding culinary delights!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Escobar's Farmhouse Inn.

Room Tip: We loved the Walter Room but every room is equally as appealing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SEAuLATER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Ct
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

If you are visiting Newport, Rhode Island you have to stay at Escobar’s Farmhouse Inn in nearby Portsmouth, Rhode Island. When you open the door and walk inside, you enter a home that should be featured in House and Gardens. It is absolutely gorgeous and spotless. Every room is decorated with antiques and an eclectic mixture of furniture and paintings. The kitchen is open and we all sat around the island that is in the center of the kitchen and enjoyed our wine and cheese. When we returned from dinner, we decided to have our “after dinner drinks” in the living room.

All the bedrooms are lovely. I stayed upstairs in the Walter room while my friends stayed downstairs in the Mary and Tony rooms. Our room was quite large and the bed was so comfortable. There was plenty of hot water in the shower and the water pressure was great.

The innkeeper Stuart is fabulous! He made the most delicious gourmet breakfast. I emailed him earlier in the week to let him know one of my friend’s is allergic to pork and he made sure he had turkey bacon for Sue. Plus he had pastries, fresh juice, coffee and fresh fruit salad out on the counter. And the coffee was excellent. He is so friendly and makes you feel right at home.

I highly recommend Escobar’s Farmhouse Inn. I am already planning my next visit. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyI2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

My sister and I stayed at the inn in November for my son-in-law's retirement. It was our first experience at a bed and breakfast and what a wonderful experience it was! The farmhouse is absolutely charming. Our room (The Mary) was beautifully decorated, spotless and so comfortable. We loved having our own private bath. Stuart, the innkeeper, was so thoughtful and friendly - and his breakfasts were delicious! He made us feel so welcome and comfortable. We both highly recommend you visit Escobar's. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lfc45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
2.8 mi away
Founder's Brook Motel & Suites
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
5.9 mi away
Bristol Harbor Inn
Bristol Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
5.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
5.6 mi away
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escobar's Farmhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escobar's Farmhouse Inn

Property: Escobar's Farmhouse Inn
Address: 2072 E Main Rd, Route 138, Portsmouth, RI 02871-1226
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Portsmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escobar's Farmhouse Inn is owned by Jane and Louis Escobar, and run by Innkeeper Dawn. The inn is located across the street from Escobar's Highland Farm, one of Rhode Island's few remaining dairy farms. The farm was acquired by Louis' father in 1937. The Inn has always been a dream for Jane, and she has worked diligently for several years to create a comfortable "home away from home" for her guests. Each of the four rooms are named for Louis and Jane's parents, Tony and Mary Escobar, and Walter and Katherine Rzegocki. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing