We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best barbecue in RI!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of LJ's BBQ - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
LJ's BBQ
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
241 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Best barbecue in RI!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The place has typical cheap-restaurant ambiance and decor, but that's not why you come here. The BBQ ribs are very good - not the best I've ever had, but the best I've had in Rhode Island. Reasonable prices too. If you live in RI and crave BBQ, this is the place.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Providence_RITom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Brunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I are obsessed with brunch at LJ's- the LJ'S benedict is to die for!!!! Pulled pork over cornbread & spiked hollandaise sauce. OMG you will not be disappointed!!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Waxqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great local bbq spot.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

good mix of carolina, texas, memphis and KC BBQ with local RI touch.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mctr234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Ordered brisket. It was dry. Service was just OK. I've been to great BBQ places across the country, The Salt Lick in Driftwood TX, Dreamland in Tuscaloosa, just to name two. This place is not even close. Mediocre at best.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JACProvidence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, RI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent ribs.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

I look for good ribs all over the country. I realize that LJ's just got the Best in RI award, but I believe the flavor and value of the ribs can match just about any BBQ in America. They shouldn't be just limited to RI. The ribs are as good as Wes' ribs used to be way back when. Don't go for the atmosphere or service.....go for the ribs and don't ruin them by putting sauce on them.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BostonAmbassador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LJ's BBQ also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing