We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local pub with atmosphere and OK food and brew”

Dohertys East Ave Irish Pub
Ranked #18 of 158 Restaurants in Pawtucket
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Collins Co
Level Contributor
150 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Local pub with atmosphere and OK food and brew”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Have visited this place since first going there years ago when it was the East End cafe. This is truly a local joint, with local loyal clientele, down-home atmosphere with friendly waitresses, and a feel that you are in a tavern like the one in Cheers. Food is typical pub grub but a a step up in menu selections not generally found in locals and with pretty decent quality ingredients, preparation, and presentation. Which probably accounts for the fact that the cafe almost always has a full or nearly full house. They do a great job on with BBQ ribs! Although the place is not elegant, the food is very good, the beer selections on tap and bottled are extensive, and the service is welcoming, friendly, and efficient. Try it for a change of pace!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CSU_prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    43
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
1,015 reviews
562 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Great beer selection and descent pub grub”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

The draw is the extensive beer selection 150+, there is a good rotation of the beers with seasonal variation.

The food is your typical pub grub and if you are looking for a culinary experience besides the beer you will not find it here. Having that said the burgers are great, the pulled pork is awesome. I don't understand why they can't make a beer battered fish and chips. Talking about chips or fries these aren't the best.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reslimpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
173 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Awesome Beer Selection”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you love trying new beers this is a great place for you plenty of selection and they are always bringing in new beers to add to their list. The food wasn't great but it was good, i had the corned beef and cabbage and found the beef to be very dry. The service was phenomenal once the waiter learned that it was our first time there he made some suggestions, and helped my fiance pick out a good variety of beer for his "flight" (a selection of 4-6 beers that are served in smaller trial sized glasses). Don't let the parking lot fool you, we thought the place would be packed since the parking lot was but there was plenty of seat available both at the bar and at tables.
I will be going back for the beer, service, and also to give the food another try.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
132 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“favorite”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

One of my favorite places in Rhode Island! Huge beer list and fantastic bar atmosphere. The service is super friendly and they have great entertainment. From trivia to brewery visits, it's always a fun time. They have a pretty big menu and the food is outstanding. I love the new semi-outdoor beer garden they added on, it's such a blast when the weather warms up! There's always ample parking and the prices are very fair.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caroleeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
139 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fabulous beer selection!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Guaranteed, they'll have a beer that will make you happy....and probably several! We had eaten here before a couple of years ago and the food was great--seemed more "high end" than this time. This time out it was "meh"; just no-frills pub food, but I wouldn't let that stop you from coming here if you are a beer lover. If beer is your focus and food just something to soak some of it up with, you will still love this place. Nice Irish atmosphere, very friendly, very knowledgeable bartenders who can describe the beers to you and advise you (no easy feat I'm sure, with so many to remember!). We make it a destination from time to time, because there's nothing like it in the area. A great place to expand your beer tastes and knowledge. We like hanging out at the bar best--the bartenders (besides being beer savvy) never lose their patience or sense of humor, even on a busy night. Recommended for a fun night out if great food is not your focus.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moovis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dohertys East Ave Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Dohertys East Ave Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing