We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best roast beef”
Review of The Beef Barn

The Beef Barn
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“the best roast beef”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The roast beef sandwiches are fantastic. The service not so much. I sat at the counter for a while and I understand that it gets busy, but multiple waitresses walked by me without even acknowledging me. I had to flag one down to place my order and they were quite unfriendly. Only after I finally ordered did someone approach me and ask if I was being helped. The food comes out really fast though and it is the best roast beef I've had around here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ayameofazuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    43
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somers, New York, USA
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Cool place”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I stopped as I needed some take out for the drive in. Very reasonable pricing, good food, portions are very small. Shakes are excellent and worth a visit if only for the shakes. The counter person was very friendly, efficient and helpful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, RI
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Fast quick service, excellent fresh food, priced right, good sized portions. Juts a great little place for a quick meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe_Incognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“consistently good food & a fun place!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a fun place to visit - service is always great, everyone is smiling and happy and super friendly. If you go a few times, they remember your order (which blows me away, given the number of people they have there all the time). I don't get the roast beef, and none of my family or friends get it (shocking, I know!)......I get a veggie burger and fries and both are yummy.....and everyone else gets some variation of a burger and they all love their food. Takeout from here is always a good option when someone is having a burger craving.

If you haven't been here, go for the drive and give it a whirl! Have good food here then pop up the street to Wright's and get some awesome desserts to take home.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank library_girl_ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent roast beef, fast friendly service, prices are fantastic!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Was taken here by a friend as I would likely never consider stopping at a kitschy roadside place. Not that I am a snob, but, ok, I can be a snob. The Beef Barn is awesome! It looks like it belongs in Pennsylvania Dutch country, the decorations are very quaint, and the dining areas are rustic and comfy. Table service is friendly and efficient. The place is reasonably clean with that pleasant slight air of "well worn" that tells you you are in a happy, busy place. The food: I ordered a roast beef sandwich and a soda, he ordered a cheeseburger, fries and a shake. Food came amazingly fast, hot and clearly prepared to order. Roast beef was lean, rare and delicious. Horseradish was separate from the mayo, perfect for me, I do not really like mayo but I love horseradish. Pickle from a barrel, sliced as requested, and a spicy bbq sauce, yummy yummy. Companion loved his meal- he has been here many times before, and stated that the food was as good as ever. I will definitely stop in again when in the area- especially because the check was incredibly low- I do not think anything was priced over $3.00. What a place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LifeInTheGoLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beef Barn also viewed

 

Been to The Beef Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing