We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyday food, nothing special.”
Review of Gator's Pub

Gator's Pub
Price range: $0 - $12
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
North Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Everyday food, nothing special.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is just my opinion, because i live very, very close to Gators and I know tons of people who love it. If you like fried food and lots of it, then you'll love Gators. We eat hardly any fried food, never do McDonald's, Burger King, etc. So when we choose to eat out we would never go to Gators although we are within walking distance. We've been there maybe once or twice since it opened. Too much fried food for us. And is mobbed when they have any sports events. They have volleyball in the summer and the parking lot is chock full. So although I don't go there, lots of people do. The food isn't bad, just not our thing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lifeisgoodincanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    12
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A good neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is our go to place whenver we eat out if we don't already have another place in mind. The service is usually great. The food isn't gourmet but good. Typical bar type of food. Not particularly healthy. They have many activities, trivia on Thursdays, karaoke on Saturday, etc. There's a toy box in the corner for young kids to take something home. Prices are affordable for families. They have outside seating but that is usually taken up by the volleyball players.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KATHLEEN O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good food for decent prices.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Gators has a wide selection of menu choices so its a good place to eat if you are with picky eaters. There's something for everyone, and though it may not be gourmet food, it is good and you will probably not leave there hungry.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T-Ree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great...if you're a townie”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I have been going to Gator's for about 7 years. It's close to home and there are lots of TVs for football-watching. They have good beers on tap, and the bar food is fine when you're in need. I'd say we paid a visit to Gator's about once a week. After all those weeks, after all those years, you'd think someone, anyone would recognize you, welcome you back, make conversation (we're big tippers, too!), but that never happened. The bartenders are very chatty with their regulars, but despite our tips and our attempts at conversation, we could never achieve that status. I don't know what you have to do; maybe live around back or have the native accent or know the secret handshake- what? Sadly, we won't go back. It was convenient and we'll miss the beer, but we won't miss feeling like we're not welcome.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank glasllyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Although the food was good. The temperature in the place was chilly. One thing I detest is to eat with my coat on and that was the case this past week. C'mon Gators - crank up the heat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gloria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gator's Pub also viewed

North Smithfield, RI
North Smithfield, RI
 

Been to Gator's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing