We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible food; stale baked goods, very $$$”
Review of Village Bean - CLOSED

Village Bean
Restaurant details
Johnston, RI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Terrible food; stale baked goods, very $$$”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Do the people that own this place have any CONCEPT of how to run a restaurant? The service here is so slow, its almost like a joke. Seriously, it took one girl almost 30 mins to make a tuna salad sandwhich. My friend got a roast beef sandwhich and it was all fat and gristle. Finally, I was looking forward to some tasty cookies, but they were way past their due date.

Dunkin Donuts is right down the street and a much better value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle03051978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Scituate, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great coffee, breakfast and lunch!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Sometimes you want to go where everybody knows your name, and this is the place for us in Scituate. But if you're not from around here you'll still feel welcome and comfortable in this villages' Village Bean

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GleanerGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We like it!”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We frequently go to the Village Bean for our morning coffee. We usually get a muffin or a breakfast sandwich and they're always good.

The atmosphere is quaint and cozy, the staff is friendly, the food is good and prices are very reasonable. We recently tried the pancakes and they were great. Three huge pancakes with your choice of meat for under $5, you can't go wrong with that!

We will definitely continue going there!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Friendlykat4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This is a cool coffee shop with good...”
Reviewed August 18, 2010

This is a cool coffee shop with good breakfast sandwiches and outdoor seating.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iluvspiderman666
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“overly priced food that could be found at ur local dunkin donuts.”
Reviewed February 10, 2010

well i live in scituate and this is pretty much the only restaurant type thing tht we have so we have to deal with it. but the food could b gotten at any coffee shop and probably for a better deal!!! the service was ok. not great. i ordered a hot choc. w/ whipped cream and when she put the cover on, it spilled over the edge of the cup and she just handed it to me! i thought tht was pretty rude. but scituate is a great town if ur looking for a quaint little woodsy town with a single restaurant!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mgodbout6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Bean also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing