We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable atmosphere and food. ”
Review of Carriage Inn & Saloon - CLOSED

Carriage Inn & Saloon
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Enjoyable atmosphere and food. ”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyable atmosphere and very good food. A bit classier than a lot of places but shorts are still okay. The whiskey bar dates back to the 1700s, and the place is rumored to be "haunted". Indeed, it was even featured on Ghost Hunters. Former bordello. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Russ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    17
    9
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I want to like this place, really I do.”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

I want this place to do well as I recall it from its Old Acres days in the late 60's. It has potential with its nice interior stonework and real wood burning fireplaces. However, I found the food we had to be just average. My wife's caesar salad was bland and her calamari was soggy. I think the garlic butter poured over the calamari is a mistake. Hey, we take calamari seriously in RI.

My prime rib sliders were fine and I appreciate that you can order either two or four. The littlenecks on the half shell were well shucked in that they contained much of their juice and the clam itself was separated from the shell making slurping them down quite easy. My Belgian Ale draft was quite nice as well.

We will give it another try soon, maybe when the weather is not so nice so we can enjoy the fireplace.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigE02882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Need another try”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Had dinner here last week for the first time. Sat at the bar and took a while to be waited on because though the bar was not full, the bartender was also waiting on tables. I have no problem waiting for this but the waits continued throughout our stay even though the manager popped in here and there and could see she was very busy. We ordered chicken wellington and a prime rib pizza which were both very good and our beers were cold when refilled.

The bartender appeared frazzled and though polite enough was not overly friendly. When one of the MANY fruit flies that were buzzing around landed in one of our drinks, I quietly addressed it with the bartender who explained to me, "they are hard to get rid of." Unacceptable for a restaurant to have any insects! She did give a new glass and filled the beer to the same spot on the glass, about 1/3 full and handed it back to us. I found this equally surprising. We left very soon after this.

Food was good, so I am willing to give it another try but if the flies and poor service continue, this place may not.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Carriage Inn is Back!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I was so glad to see the Carriage Inn is back again. I hadn't been in years and then it remained closed for so long. A friend and I met for lunch on a whim and sat at the bar. The bar area is very cool with stone walls and a great atmosphere. Fabulous bourbons and drinks as well as fun beer on tap (including Delrium Tremens, a favorite!). We decided to just share a few appetizers and ordered the Skinny Dippin' which was a hummus/spinach dip/carrot dip sampler with bread and veggies. It was a bit tasteless and I wouldn't order it again. We also shared the crab cakes and each had one - much better and had great flavor. We also shared a grilled pepperoni and onion pizza - perfect size to share and the onions were caramelized. Very good!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori-Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Satisfying Dining Experience”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Our party of five went for early dinner (5:30) this past Friday. We were seated quickly, and our waitress followed along with a sampling of crackers and cheese spread to nibble on while we perused the menu. We are not drinkers (one beer between us) so I cannot weigh in on drinks. Between us we had a pesto cream pasta dish, a chicken parm dish, prime rib, mixed grill, and crab cakes. All were served in a timely manner, and the waitress checked a couple of times to check on anything we might need. The prime rib (8oz, $14) was medium rare, and it was excellent. I had the yukon gold mashed, along with veg. of the day, yellow squash/zuchinni with the beef. All very good. The mixed grille included grilled chicken with shrimp on a skewer over risotto. The comment on the shrimp was that they were a bit dry, but everything else was very good. The other diners were quite satisfied with their dinners as well, especially the pasta with the pesto cream, that came with chicken. We all had side salads with the maple - balsamic dressing. Very good.
Bottom line, we are eager to return to try some of the other offerings.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chet k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carriage Inn & Saloon also viewed

North Kingstown, South County
North Kingstown, South County
 
North Kingstown, South County
North Kingstown, South County
 
North Kingstown, South County
North Kingstown, South County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing