We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smooth, clean, friendly”

Martha's Vineyard Fast Ferry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We operate the newest most luxurious fast ferry to Martha's Vineyard. The "Ava Pearl" offers all Business Class seating with interior luggage areas and the most advanced Ride Control System in the world offering the smoothest ride possible. Depart from Quonset Point, Rhode Island and avoid all the Cape Cod traffic - we will save you 3-4 hours in travel time each way! Closest daily ferry to Connecticut, New York & New Jersey. Dockside parking $10/day. Seasonal ferry service operating May through October.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Smooth, clean, friendly”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Very well run ship. Bathrooms are cleaned in between trips. I have taken the ferry on many occasions and usually right on time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LGOPX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    76
    17
    11
    25
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Check the marine forecast first”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

As a native Rhode Islander, I'm no stranger to boat rides, ocean-going and otherwise, and I'm not afraid of a little chop. I never get seasick. However, my close calls have all been aboard the Vineyard Fast Ferry from Quonset to MV. No question the ferry is fast, clean and an easy way to get to Martha's Vineyard. But it isn't cheap, so if you are going to spend the money, be sure to check the marine forecast before buying your tickets. Otherwise, you risk 90 minute of your own queasiness or the queasiness of other passengers. To quote my young niece, after we boarded for the return voyage and she heard an announcement that we would be through the chop "shortly," she announced to the whole cabin, "Shortly? On the way over they said 'shortly' and it turned out to be the whole trip!" Out of the mouths of babes...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SavvyTraveler618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“easy combo from NYC”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

first trip to Martha's Vineyard and used the suggested itinerary of amtrak, shuttle & fast ferry. seamless, easy & reasonably priced! check website for schedules and while all three are booked separately, very efficient way to get back and forth from the island!

Helpful?
3 Thank travelG74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
1 review
“Great trip, regardless of weather-related cancellation, for first-time passenger”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

What a great job the team accomplished in getting everybody on shuttle buses for August 13th 1:00 PM canceled ferry ride. As a first-time customer it appeared to be a seamless and smooth process although I'm sure a lot of coordination ahead of time was necessary to make it look as so. We were all directed to two busses that quickly got us all to Woods Hole and onto a ferry. In sparkling weather on the return trip, The boat was clean, the staff was attentive and professional,
updates on the PA system kept folks informed, and the debarking process was organized and courteous

The staff's friendliness, courteousness and professionalism surpassed my expectations and as a first time passenger I will certainly be using the ferry again in the future.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Purchase tickets on line to secure your return trip”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

We did our home work. We called and came to Rhode Island a day early to pick up our tickets. The fate agents were cordial and waited almost an half hour past closing for us to arrive at the station. We could only purchase a one way because they sold out of Sunday morning tickets which mean we were on a waiting list for our return - risky.

We chose seats outside to take advantage of the warm summer sun but the seats were wet and it was a windy ride.


Beautiful country, the ride on the ferry was better than the bumper to bumper traffic in Massachusetts - well worth the trip.

Helpful?
Thank JDRolle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martha's Vineyard Fast Ferry also viewed

 

Been to Martha's Vineyard Fast Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing