We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what you see is what you get” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wickford Diner

Wickford Diner
Cuisines: American, Soups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Le Pecq, France
Level Contributor
123 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“what you see is what you get”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

basic greasy spoon, don't expect bells and roses. Nothing like a nice place where you are called sweety-pie, that hashbrowns have lots of flavor. eggs prepared as you like, and truck drivers in the place...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank benrankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    6
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
244 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We came here some time ago, and had some really good chowdah. This time, they had remodeled and expanded the dining area. They may have spent more money on the "atmosphere" than the quality of their food!

They were out of chowder; the crab cakes were hunks of dough. I substituted some other soup, but it too was just not very tasty. The crab cakes kept reminding me the rest of the evening that they were over-fried.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPickwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise - good lobster bisque”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were wandering around town and realized we were HUNGRY - just as we were passing this little restaurant. It was early and no-one was eating yet, but the waitress was very accommodating. We didn't want a big meal, and decided to try their lobster bisque and stuffies (Stuffed quohogs - large stuffed clams).
This is NOT a gourmet restaurant - but the bisque was thick and creamy with a nice sherry flavor, and lots of little bits of lobster (not chunks- do not expect that!). It did not have that bad flavor of too much raw flour that some bisques can. It was much better than the bisque at Eveylyns in Tiverton.
The stuffies were different- but very good, with large FRESH chunks of clams - not chewy. They finished them/heated them face down on the grill. Served with a slice of lemon- very tasty.
The prices were incredibly reasonable. A cup of chowder is $3.00 - and a cup of bisque was only 50cents more at $3.50. A full bowl of bisque was $4.50.
Two stuffies, a cup of bisque, and a bowl of bisque cambe to a grand total of $13.50 with tax. We were satisfied and certainly did not need anything else to eat.
The portions of the meals we saw coming out of the kitchen were HUGE, including the fried clams dinner. While we didn't try them, the meals looked very good.
If we are in town, and hungry, we would definitely stop by here again to eat.
Don't expect anything fancy - this is a diner and seems like a place the locals like to eat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Makai7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It is a diner, but a good one”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We otpted to eat here one afternoon after a day of sightseeing in the area. It was too late for lunch and too early for dinner, so they were not busy. The one waitress in duty was very nice and took good care of us. As I was intent on trying as many clam chowders as possible in the area, I ordered that to go along with my entree. The chowder was good. The main meal was ok. Not particularly memorable, but certainly not bad and no complaints. The portions were huge. My husband and I could easily have split one meal (2
We found this to be true at several area restaurants. They don't skimp in this area.
The tea was the only disappointment. We expected brewed tea, but it was bottled tea. One of the major brands (can't remember right now...maybe Snapple). We don't like bottled tea, but we had ordered tea so we drank it.
I would definitely go back and try their lunch or breakfast. Anytime the service is good, and it was very good here, i don't give as much thought to whether or not it is 4-star cooking.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaggieSue_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
185 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great spot for chowder! ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

The side of the diner opens into a building with a "Wickford Clam Shack" sign on it. Wandered in one cold evening while shopping in Wickford and in the mood for trying something new.

The menu is simple, chowder, clam cakes and fish-n-chips type items. If you go, get the stuffed scallop appetizer and the chowder. The stuffed scallop had tender little pieces of scallop in a bread stuffing presented in a scallop shell. The white chowder was thick and rich with a nice amount of clams and potatoes. You will not be disappointed!


Helpful?
Thank BlueLynxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wickford Diner also viewed

North Kingstown, South County
North Kingstown, South County
 
North Kingstown, South County
North Kingstown, South County
 

Been to Wickford Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing