We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must try for locals AND visitors!”
Review of Allie's Donuts

Allie's Donuts
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Exeter, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must try for locals AND visitors!”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Allie's donuts was a part of my childhood, I remember those wonderfufl sunday mornings waking up to seeing that white box with red lettering, made my day! Now I work in Massachusetts and sitll live 10 minutes from Allie's in RI, I have introduced these delcious donuts to my co-workers and they are in love! Every few months I stop in at 520AM (sign outside says they open at 6 on weekends, but it seems as though that open sign is always on and they are ready to serve) and bringa few dozen to work, they disappear in mintues! MY favorites is the double chocolate!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    24
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Carb up on the way to the beach!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

If you are local, you are pretty much required to stop for donuts on the way to the beach. It's hilarious to see everyone stopping in their swimsuits and flip flops running into the shop and then hitting the eastbound freeway. We used a stop here as a lure to get the kids moving toward the beach. It's nice to see such a local place in a donut world now dominated by national chains. The popular favorites in our dozen were the chocolate honey dipped, the lemon-filled chocolate frosted, and the maple frosted. Yum! A word of warning -- I've heard the line becomes ridiculous on weekends, but we walked right up on a Monday morning.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keithcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
687 reviews
391 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

What a difference it is to eat a fresh homemade donut. The raised are light, airy, and delicious. Each one will cost you about $.85.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JGallagher28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Go With the Raised Donuts”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Riased donuts such as Glazed and Honey Dipped were terrific. Less impressed with the cake style donuts such as chocalate and coconut.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank NewMexBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Now THESE are Donuts :)”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

If you are near Allie's you need to stop by and grab some donuts or if you planning a party get a donut cake. I have never had someone say they didn't like the donut cake. I could go on and on which donut to order, but I personally love the glazed stick. Try Allie's... you won't be disappointed!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Qsmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allie's Donuts also viewed

North Kingstown, South County
North Kingstown, South County
 
North Kingstown, South County
East Greenwich, South County
 
North Kingstown, South County
Narragansett, South County
 

Been to Allie's Donuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing