We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good affordable hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of TownePlace Suites Providence North Kingstown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Providence North Kingstown
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in North Kingstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Swindon
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good affordable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Selected this property as I was looking for somewhere close to Newport and Providence RI. This came up and I read the reviews here and thought I would try it. Glad I did as it was very good and easy to find and it has a nice large, free car park.

Check in was very quick and easy with the desk clerk very pleasant and helpful. The room was a good size with the usual facilities cooker, large freezer etc. Bathroom is a good size with a nice powerful adjustable shower in the bath. Nice flat screen TV with a good selection of channels.

Have to agree with a previous reviewer the breakfast was a little sparse in choice but I must admit I find a lot of hotels tend to offer the bare basics these days.

The trip to Newport RI is easy via the Jamestown Bridge; there is a toll, $4.00 each way.

For those who would want to eat in, there is a large grocery store right opposite the hotel to get your supplies from.

On my first night I found Liliana's Italian Restaurant in South Kingstown by chance, and have to say what luck, excellent food and service, you must try the Lobster Ravioli with Brandy cream. On my last night I found a Legal Seafoods restuarant about 9 miles away from the hotel by the T F Green airport on the Old Warwick Road, well worth the trip.

Would I stay here again, absolutely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pointscollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    69
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
64
44
7
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I was very impressed with the staff and rooms here.. My only complaint is they didnt serverve eggs or potatoes with the breackfast.. There is a store around the back side and a stove in the room though. All in all it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brodykeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This property is as advertised. The room was fairly spacious and very convenient/well laid out. The bathroom had plenty of room and the kitchenette would definitely meet the needs of most. The staff seemed quite friendly and I feel this would be a nice property for business travelers or someone looking for slightly more than a regularly room. Very consistent Marriott Quality!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffW79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncalieri, Italy
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The room was clean, big and comfortable, with very comfortable king size bed. The staff was kind and useful. The breakfast area and the elevator were not so clean. The breakfast was really poor. In the guest laundry there was only washer, not dryer, so we had problems to dry the clothes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iordanka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I needed to attend a family get together in Newport. The selection of dog friendly hotels in the area were few and far between. This hotel was clean, included continental breakfast and reasonably priced also close to a really nice linear trail which is great for doggy walking. We spent three nights and I would go back again. Easy drive to Newport and other attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ceilidancer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed a weekend at this hotel using it as an inexpensive "home" for touring the Newport area. The hotel has all of the basic ammenities you will need and our room included a full refrigerator and small kitchenette. However, breakfast is included as a part of the room cost and ample to carry you over into your day. My only complaint is that the curtains on the room are on one rod and therefore never fully shut allowing the morning light to illuminate the room.

The drive into Newport is fairly direct and not bad, taking you through the quaint town of Warwick. It is about 20 minutes each way. The downside is that the Newport bridge costs $4 each way so you need to factor the price of gas, time loss, and bridge tolls when you decide where to say. Although I have stayed in Marriotts over 60 nights so far this year (ugh), this is my first time staying in a TownPlace Suites and I would use the brand again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stepsite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxbury, CT
Level Contributor
116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a family weekend (9/21-9/23) at a Newport, RI University and wanted to take our small dog. This hotel is pet friendly and was a good choice but they do charge a $100.00 pet cleaning fee in addition to their normal rates which are reasonable. All in all our stay was very pleasant and comfortable. The front desk staff were friendly and attentive to our needs. Check in and check out was a breeze. The hotel is relatively new (1 year old) so the Suites are in very good condition. The bed was comfortable, had a nice kitchen area with full size refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave and two burner stove. The bathroom was adequate and the shower was good but the water pressure for the sink was a little more than a trickle. The ride into Newport takes 15 minutes or less and you have to cross the toll bridge ($4.00 each way); not that big of a deal given the reasonable room rate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stonecroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Kingstown
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
5.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 3 in West Warwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Coventry-Warwick Area
6.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coventry/Providence
12.0 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#3 of 8 in Narragansett
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Providence North Kingstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Providence North Kingstown

Property: TownePlace Suites Providence North Kingstown
Address: 55 Gate Rd, North Kingstown, RI 02852-7146
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > North Kingstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in North Kingstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Providence North Kingstown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The TownePlace Suites Providence North Kingstown is a hotel designed with the modern traveler in mind - just moments from the top attractions and corporations in North Kingstown, Newport and Providence, Rhode Island. Sleek, spacious accommodations decked out with every contemporary comfort offer a relaxing sanctuary for executives, families and weekending couples (and, of course, their pets). Inviting social areas are perfect for connecting with colleagues or catching up with old friends. A state-of-the-art fitness center is fully equipped to accommodate any workout regimen. Additional complimentary perks such as a sumptuous breakfast each morning, shuttle service to nearby Kingstown businesses and attractions within a 5-mile radius, and high-speed Wi-Fi Internet throughout the hotel complete your ideal stay. When it comes to amenities, we haven't forgotten a thing, but just in case you have, stop by our 24-hour "In a Pinch" market for travel sundries, snacks and pre-made meals. If business is on the agenda, our 400-square-foot meeting room offers an intimate setting for cocktail receptions, presentations, training seminars or interviews. At the TownePlace Suites Providence North Kingstown, clean, healthy living starts with 100% smoke-free accommodations and continues with a host of green-friendly features that made us the first LEED-certified hotel in the state of Rhode Island. Our saltwater indoor pool offers completely chlorine-free soaks that are just as easy on the eyes and skin as they are on the environment. Around the hotel you'll notice eco-conscious building materials and energy efficient lighting, along with innovative water conservation efforts Despite this list of features, it's our friendly, boutique hotel style of service that brings guests back again and again. If there is anything you'd like to see or experience during your stay in North Kingstown, just let us know and we'll handle the arrangements. Check into the TownePlace Suites Providence North Kingstown and add a little life to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Providence North Kingstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Providence North Kingstown Hotel North Kingstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing