We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Dog Friendly Hotel 15 Minutes from Newport, RI”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Providence North Kingstown
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in North Kingstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a family weekend (9/21-9/23) at a Newport, RI University and wanted to take our small dog. This hotel is pet friendly and was a good choice but they do charge a $100.00 pet cleaning fee in addition to their normal rates which are reasonable. All in all our stay was very pleasant and comfortable. The front desk staff were friendly and attentive to our needs. Check in and check out was a breeze. The hotel is relatively new (1 year old) so the Suites are in very good condition. The bed was comfortable, had a nice kitchen area with full size refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave and two burner stove. The bathroom was adequate and the shower was good but the water pressure for the sink was a little more than a trickle. The ride into Newport takes 15 minutes or less and you have to cross the toll bridge ($4.00 each way); not that big of a deal given the reasonable room rate.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stonecroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 211 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

Brand new, a year and a half old I think. Inexpensive. About 20 minutes from Newport, give or take a few minutes. Somewhat scaled down version of a Residence Inn, but nice rooms, all are suites. I stayed in a Studio Suite, which has everything you need. Friendly staff. Small kitchen area, all appliances, small couch, small desk/work area for computer or other stuff, shelves, etc. Like a small studio apartment. Clean, well landscaped. Small but comfortable. Breakfast is OK. OJ a little watered down, but not bad. Small breakfast area, minimal offerings but they are free so I guess you can't complain. There's a small shopping area "Quonset" right across the street, short walk. "Dave's" which is like a Whole Foods market. Wireless connection is free but at times exceedingly slow. Tried the wired connection, didn't seem much better. All in all, for the price it's well worth a try.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mal723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife and I made a last minute decision to go away for Labor Day, but wanted to also make sure that our dog could come with us. The TownePlace Suites in North Kingstown was the perfect choice. The price was very reasonable and the room was very comfortable/clean. Every staff member we met was very nice and personable, and they all were dog-friendly. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinFromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I was surprised to find this little gem. I never expected it to be as nice as it was. The staff were helpful and polite. the hotel was clean and smoke free. the grounds were well kept. Our room was very nice with a full kitchen with dishwasher, quartz counter tops, ceramic cook top,, (2 burner) and full size fridge with auto ice maker. the exercise room had good up to date equipment and large full screen tv. the pool contained heated salt water. Pool temp was too cool for husband and I, but the children in the pool did not seem to mind a bit.No security issues for us during our 3 night stay. We have no complains. Clean and quiet. Not far from the New Port RI Mansions.

Room Tip: surprisingly this is a pet friendly hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelleytemperance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here because we wanted to use a Marriott Free Stay coupon to visit Newport RI on a summer weekend. It was a great choice for that - being about 20 minutes from downtown Newport via the Jamestown/Newport bridge ($4.00 toll - EZ pass accepted). The property is also close to the quaint town of Wickford (antique shops, etc) as well as the "Fast Ferry" to Martha's Vineyard. Pt Judith (Ferry to Block Island) is about 30 minutes away.

Its a new hotel, situated on the grounds of a former naval base that is being redeveloped for civilian use. If you're not familiar with Townplace Suites, they are very similar to Marriott's "Residence Inns" - and set up primarily for extended stay business travelers - and each room has a full kitchen as well as very workable desk. We had a King Suite with a pull out sofa for my wife, my son and me. The bed was very comfortable, but the pull out was a bit lumpy. When extended, the pullout and the bed occupied just about the entire sleeping area of the suite. Fortunately, the room had a nice closet and lots of drawers and other places to put clothes and suitcases, which made the crowded quarters a lot more tolerable.

The complimentary continental breakfast was a lot better than the typical budget hotel breakfast - with a reasonable choice of cereals, yogurt, eggs, bagels and beverages. There is no other food service available at the hotel, but there is a very nice supermarket in the mall across the street called Dave's Marketplace. They make great pizza's, have great produce and full deli as well as gourmet prepared foods. This being Rhode Island, we had to go to a "liquor store" to get beer - but found a good one a few blocks up on US 1.

Indoor Common areas were a little cramped - and people spilled out to the outdoor patio, which was fine for a warm summer morning. If it was winter, I would probably want to take my breakfast back to the room.

Hotel staff were helpful, friendly and responsive to our requests. Our room and the hotel common areas were clean and well maintained. The exercise room was small but decent and featured cardio machines and free weights. Pool was similar.

While the hotel is located close the US 1 - the area was quite nice for walking. A 2 mile bike and jogging path goes from the back of the mall across the street to Quonset Point. I met some other guests who had no problem parking and swimming at a public beach in that area - the water was fine, but the beach was a bit rocky. There is also a SeaBees Memorial there which is worth visiting if you're into military history. The "Quonset Hut" was invented here.

Room Tip: Floors 2 - 4 are more separate from public areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikerbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Prior to booking a room, I read the reviews here, virtually all reviews were amazing and enthusiastic. Now, after our stay, I feel the same way. It's a new and beautiful hotel, well taken care of rooms, and great, friendly staff. I'd surely recommend it for anyone and everyone planning a stay in that area.

As per the location, it isn't the greatest if your trip revolves mainly around Newport, as it is a 25-30 minute drive to the main attractions there. But we enjoyed the scenic drive over the beautiful bridges on the way, and in no way regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here with our 2 year old daughter for early season trip to RI back in May. We were immediately impressed by the front desk staff, all of whom were polite and attentive. Upon checking into our room we were very happy to find a clean, comfortable room that appeared to be well cared for and spacious. The kitchenette is ample for storing your food and throwing together a snack or light meal for a little one. If we had booked directly or thought ahead we would have booked or upgraded to the larger one bedroom units but, in the end we found the Studio to be plenty of space for us and for our daughter's small bed which we brought along.

After depositing our bags we departed for a ride to Newport, prior to leaving we received some great advice from the front desk regarding directions and what to do. After a fun afternoon in Newport we got back to our room and we noticed that there were several ants on the floor. When we called the front desk they were very concerend and stated that its never happened but they imagined it due to the room's location onf the first floor. The staff were eager to address the situation and asked if they could spray the area where the ants were. When we expressed our concern regarding chemicals and our 2 year old they did not hesitate to locate another room for us and we were moved to another beautiful and well kept room. All in all, from calling to report the concern to moving to another room took less than 20 minutes. And no worries, it was not an "infestation" of any sort just a few ants is all and had we not been at a hotel it wouldn't have really been much of an issue. The front desk follwed up with us a little while later to make sure the second room was going to be ok, which we both thought was nice.

The hotel is in a good central location to Newport and Providence, either of which is 20-25 minute drive. There is a nice little shopping plaza right across from the hotel as well. Although the hotel is right off the highway, we didn't have any concerns about noise. We look forward to our next trip to the area and hope to be able to book our next stay here when we do.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WidowsSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Kingstown
10.5 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
207 reviews
5.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 3 in West Warwick
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Coventry-Warwick Area
6.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coventry/Providence
8.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Providence Airport/Warwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Providence North Kingstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Providence North Kingstown

Address: 55 Gate Rd, North Kingstown, RI 02852-7146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > North Kingstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in North Kingstown
Price Range: $101 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Providence North Kingstown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The TownePlace Suites Providence North Kingstown is a hotel designed with the modern traveler in mind - just moments from the top attractions and corporations in North Kingstown, Newport and Providence, Rhode Island. Sleek, spacious accommodations decked out with every contemporary comfort offer a relaxing sanctuary for executives, families and weekending couples (and, of course, their pets). Inviting social areas are perfect for connecting with colleagues or catching up with old friends. A state-of-the-art fitness center is fully equipped to accommodate any workout regimen. Additional complimentary perks such as a sumptuous breakfast each morning, shuttle service to nearby Kingstown businesses and attractions within a 5-mile radius, and high-speed Wi-Fi Internet throughout the hotel complete your ideal stay. When it comes to amenities, we haven't forgotten a thing, but just in case you have, stop by our 24-hour "In a Pinch" market for travel sundries, snacks and pre-made meals. If business is on the agenda, our 400-square-foot meeting room offers an intimate setting for cocktail receptions, presentations, training seminars or interviews. At the TownePlace Suites Providence North Kingstown, clean, healthy living starts with 100% smoke-free accommodations and continues with a host of green-friendly features that made us the first LEED-certified hotel in the state of Rhode Island. Our saltwater indoor pool offers completely chlorine-free soaks that are just as easy on the eyes and skin as they are on the environment. Around the hotel you'll notice eco-conscious building materials and energy efficient lighting, along with innovative water conservation efforts Despite this list of features, it's our friendly, boutique hotel style of service that brings guests back again and again. If there is anything you'd like to see or experience during your stay in North Kingstown, just let us know and we'll handle the arrangements. Check into the TownePlace Suites Providence North Kingstown and add a little life to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your TownePlace Suites Providence North Kingstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Providence North Kingstown Hotel North Kingstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing