We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A great base camp for fun in RI” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wickford Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wickford Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in North Kingstown
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great base camp for fun in RI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Very nice and accommodating. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The rooms are very clean. The AC was powerful but quiet. We had a fridge and free local calls (no charge for using a calling card for long distance). We were 10 min away from a great free beach (Quonset) and 20 min away from Providence. The WiFi is above average, I was getting 1.2 MB/s. It also cost very little! If you want cape cod but less touristy and cheaper, this is a great find. I got the feeling the staff worked because they enjoyed receiving people and they were not out to bleed tourists dry.

I will definitely return.

Room Tip: reserve early, I booked in Feb and had no trouble but the sign said no vacancy when we arrived.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ImpersonatingMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Western Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The room was clean and quiet and had a TV, microwave, small fridge, and unit for air conditioning or heat. The decor was dated and the tiles didn't match but who cares? There were flowers out front and they had just resealed the parking lot, so it's not like it's going unmaintained. The woman we spoke with at check in and check out was friendly and helpful. The room cost $75 a night for two firm beds for two adults, so two nights cost less than or equal to one in many of area motels, hotels, and B&Bs. It was within driving distance of plenty of the coast, Wickford downtown, and Biomes. The only thing I would have changed was that the tub only had one strip of non-slip left, so it wasn't appropriate for an older person. That however, could easily be fixed. The whole motel is smoke free, a definite plus. It's across the street from a Newport Creamery and pizza place and has soda and snack machines.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaplenCranberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotswood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I'm an over the road trucker & the Wickford is the only place I stay when I'm in Rhode Island. Debbie & Juan always make me feel welcome. The rooms are always clean. It's quiet so I can always get a good night's sleep and there is always plenty of parking. It's not a fancy place but I consider it.....my home away from home!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

well...i wanna be fair. I've read the other reviews on this site and I will say the rooms were clean, so kudos to Natalia. As for staying there for a week, that was never gonna happen. I needed a room for one evening and I picked it for the price. The room I had looked nothing like the picture so beware. It was dark paneled and nasty green carpet. The sheets were clean, the towels were clean and the water was hot, and the ac worked well. Again I want to be fair. It is an old motel and i guess there is only so much u can do with it. It reminded my wife and me of the movie Psycho, the Bates Motel. Kinda scary and I had my wife and 12 year old daughter with me, and they (We) were kinda nervous. It was no Hampton Inn, but for the price, you get what you pay for. If we had to do it all again, we probably would have spent the extra money on a newer hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank macksdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I stayed there for three night Only one Reason I'm givin it a good thumbs up is because of the wonderful house keeper natalia she kept my room spotlees and went tha extra mile to make me feel welcomed and at home they should be proud to have this young lady working there and shoud treasure her and appericate the hard work.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaliakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

A very good price for a double/double room that was immaculate. Decor is old fashioned, but expected based on price. Non smoking facility and no stale odors. Hotel manager was very helpful and interested in providing service. The only thing that did not work was the ice machine and on-site beverage vending machine -- a power surge had fried them, waiting for repair. But there was a small cube fridge in the room so we could chill beverages (manager also offered to get us some cubes). Great location for beaches and quaint New England towns, and cheaper than Bed & Breakfast. Good basic restaurants and breakfast places right on Route One. I would recommend this motel for a family, short stay, or when you need to economize.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoGoGoGoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed here for a week this month. It was very pleasant. The building is quite old, but that adds to the charm. And the outside is nicely landscaped. Best of all the price was very fair. It was clean and comfortable. The housekeeper, Natalia, was very sweet and helpful, she takes her job quite seriously, she was very meticulous about things being clean and neat. She was also very helpful to us in finding places to eat, and a place to go to watch fireworks for the 4th of July.
The managers are also very friendly and kind, we spent a couple hours just visiting with them on their OFF hours. They made sure we got whatever we needed quickly. We made sure to tell them how wonderful Natalia is too. She said to me, yes, we know and are blessed to have her. Now that's the kind of people you want to deal with!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grinningranna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Kingstown
1.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Providence North Kingstown
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
6.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 3 in West Warwick
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
3.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
7.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coventry/Providence
5.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Providence - West Warwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickford Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickford Motor Inn

Property: Wickford Motor Inn
Address: 7650 Post Rd, Route 1, North Kingstown, RI 02852-4407
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > North Kingstown
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in North Kingstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wickford Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing