We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lighthouse Inn of Galilee
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Narragansett
Turnersville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were part of a wedding party that reserved 16 rooms this past weekend at the Light House Inn. Unbelievable to say the least. We check in and got to our room, the floor obviously had not been vacuumed in a while. My husband goes to wash his hands and it was obvious the sink area has not been touched by housekeeping for days. We then discover we have no towels, tissues, anything. I call the front desk and ask for housekeeping to come up with towels and clean the room. The person at the front desk said, “um, I am the only one on today so I will bring you towels when I get time.” Time!!! It is 8 p.m. at night and no one cleaned our room.

I walk downstairs and then proceed to follow the front desk person into the laundry room to get towels from the dryer. I then return to my room where my husband has turned down the sheets to inspect the last time the sheets have been changed. Obviously not anytime in the past 3 days. There were a TON of bodily fluids on the sheets. The top sheet looked like a porn had been filmed right there. We checked out about 10 mins later and stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kate s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseinnGM, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn of Galilee, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. I have reviewed the situation with all staff and have made changes to the staff in regards to the cleaning of your guest room. I hope you were able to find suitable accomodations and enjoy your time at the wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    40
    41
    36
    80
See reviews for
80
68
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

When we arrived our room had not been cleaned completely. Looks like they made the beds and vaccummed but didn't blean the sink and counters and stock with towels, etc. After a number of trips to the front desk we got what we needed. They offered to move us but the next room wasn't much better so we cleaned up. It seemed that there was no one there to help out. The manager was very nice the next day. The exterior needs a lot of work. Love the location though

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizZ416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseinnGM, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn of Galilee, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. I apologize you had to make so many trips to the front desk and glad I was able to end your stay on a positive note. We continue to work with our staff to ensure the room is clean and ready at the time of check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Narragansett hotels

Medford, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

While everything was sold out for the Newport Folk Festival, this was really the only option left in the area that didn't jack up their rates. Rooms are outdated and could use an update, but I'm sure the staff knows that. Pool was indoors and nice, although closed a bit early for my liking. Best part was the proximity to Point Judith beach and a few bars (which aren't that great). Being this close to area beaches and restaurants was great, and definitely worth it for a stop over with a group of friends.

Room Tip: Definitely go with one on the outer perimeter of the building - I'd imagine the pool would get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllroyForPrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseinnGM, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn of Galilee, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated what we had to offer. I agree we are an older property but we do have a lot to offer and try to provide the best value in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Check in was quick and easy. The staff was extremely helpful with dining recommendations and area attractions. The lobby has a beautiful fish pond which the staff let my son feed the fish. He was in heaven! The pool area is just breathtaking it makes you think you are on a tropical island. The entire hotel was clean and comfortable one of the best nights sleep we have ever had! If your heading to Galilee/Block island this is your place to stay. We walked to dinner and the beach it was a great experience for our entire family! Can not wait until next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseinnGM, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn of Galilee, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. I am glad you had such a wonderful experience staying with us. Galilee is a great place to visit. I look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, CT
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Spent a day over in Block Island, was nice to have this very clean hotel to stay over at on the way home. Most hotels/B&B's on Block are expensive and require a two night stay, this hotel/motel was directly across the street from the ferry and provide free parking if you stay the night, very nice. Also was nice to come into a hotel with the A/C on, room was nice and cool The pool is great for kids, a lot of close sea food restaurants all great! I'd stay again, don't get me wrong, this is a dated hotel, but the place is clean and the staff is friendly. We had two adults and three children in the room with no issues from the staff, we normally bring an air mattress for our third child.

Room Tip: Don't forget to park your car here, you can save 15 on parking cost. just stop in before you lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yolel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseinnGM, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn of Galilee, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed yourself and had a fun time on block island. We know we are not the newest hotel but try to provide the best value in the area, particularly in comparison to other options available on block island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just returned from my annual visit to Galilee in Rhode Island and this was the best visit yet. My room at the hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful and courteous. When I had trouble with my toilet, they were prompt in fixing it. I love that I only have to cross the street to take the ferry to Block Island, or walk a short distance to get on the beach for the day. The weather was great, but it's good to know that if it had rained I had an indoor pool to enjoy. Yes, there are a lot of seagulls and seagull feathers around the parking lot, but when you are in a fishing village and near a bird sanctuary it's not so surprising.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidnelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseinnGM, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn of Galilee, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thanks for letting us know about your recent stay. Its a pleasure to have you stay with us every summer and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I got a funny kind of feeling you'll be coming back again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

At check-in we walked towards our room, squeezing past people drinking heavily (straight out of a rum bottle) along a handrail that looked like a community clothesline with ugly, wet towels all over it. At our room I was surprised to see people eating dinner inside! The next room he gave us had a security chair propped under the doorknob of the adjoining door and a stale, damp smell. The room seems kinda clean at first glance but inside the toliet there was grime and mold around the tub on the shower curtain and sink area. I was pretty nervous about bedbugs but thank God I didn't see any bugs at all. I wish I brought something to clean the toliet seat, phone and remote control myself.

On the second night a couple was at our door with a key trying to get in because the same big guy at the front desk double booked the room. The pool seems to stay open all night, so that's a positive for party animals. We could hear people there very late. We also were listening to a couple yell at each other due to thin walls. I felt sorry for the people who brought their children here.

Overall, I wish I booked earlier to find a vacancy on Block Island. I paid $427 for 2 nights and it was the absolute worst place I have ever been. I thought maybe the reviews were exaggerated but I think the 2 stars here is very generous. If I could give 0 stars I would.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank nicoleannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseinnGM, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn of Galilee, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thanks for letting us know about your recent stay. I can certainly appreciate the frustrations of your experience, especially as it relates to room cleanliness and having another guest looking to occupy the room. I apologize for those errors. I have addressed my concerns with the staff at night as it relates to noise and pool access. We are very busy in the summer, particularly on weekends and a lot of our guests come to the beach to have fun and blow off steam and some want a place to stay after consuming alcohal so they don't have to drive. Those guest can create some noise and roudiness issues that the hotel can not completely control. However, we do have posted pool hours and standards of behavoir that we need to ensure are enforced and we will do a better job in the future thanks to feedback like yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narragansett
4.5 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#5 of 8 in Narragansett
81 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#6 of 8 in Narragansett
151 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
323 reviews
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
198 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Inn of Galilee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Inn of Galilee

Property: Lighthouse Inn of Galilee
Address: 307 Great Island Rd, Narragansett, RI 02882-5627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Narragansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lighthouse Inn of Galilee 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across from the Block Island Ferry, Lighthouse Inn of Galilee is a fun, casual beach hotel situated in the authentic fishing village of Galilee, RI. It is the perfect location to relax and enjoy southern Rhode Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Lighthouse Inn of Galilee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Inn Of Galilee Hotel Narragansett
Lighthouse Hotel Narragansett
Lighthouse Hotel Of Galilee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing