We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay for a weekend getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Narragansett
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shells By The Sea B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 Narragansett B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yonkers, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect stay for a weekend getaway”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My fiance and I and our friends stayed at Shells By The Sea just last week. What a beautiful home and location for a short or long stay. Shell and her husband Ned were so inviting and really helpful with restaurant recommendations and making you feel right at home. They are located just a few miles from the beach and the Block Island Ferry. We were so relaxed and really enjoyed the entire stay at Shell's B&B. The pool was so relaxing! Every morning we were served a DELICIOUS breakfast and were greeted by their loveable and adorable pup Remmy. This is a must stay if you are in the Narragansett area. We can't wait to go back. Thanks again Shell and Ned! You guys were fantastic hosts :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Map922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    11
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
68
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I HIGHLY recommend this b&b if you're traveling to Narragansett! The location is perfect, and the furthest drive is 20 minutes (to get to the Block Island ferry). The beach is less than 10 minutes away and there are several gas stations, pharmacies, and liquor stores nearby.

Shel and Ned are very welcoming and accommodating. The breakfasts each morning were delicious: blueberry waffles, scrambled eggs, and eggs benedict were some of the delicacies whipped up by the friendly hosts. The house is in spotless condition and there is an entertaining area in the basement complete with a pool table and a very large television.

My boyfriend and I were celebrating an anniversary and we received champagne in the room on the last night of our stay, which was the perfect end to an amazing stay with Shel and Ned!

The salted pool, ample outdoor seating, fire pit, and poolside lounge tables were the perfect touch to this lovely b&b. The couple also has an adorable dog named Remy (who only barked TWICE over the course of 3 days).

I will hopefully be returning to Narragansett soon and I can't imagine a better place to stay than this absolutely amazing b&b!!!

Room Tip: The king suite adjacent to the kitchen comes with noise in the morning (due to the hosts cooking bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claw925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were in Rhode Island for a family event in mid-August ... prime time for tourists. But you'd never know that at Shell's as we were welcomed with open arms - arriving before check in time - and made to feel like family. This is the perfect place to get away from the hustle and bustle, yet you are only minutes away from all the activities you most want to participate in.

The rooms are spacious and yummy comfortable / the house beautiful / the landscaping to die for. And did I mention the heated pool!!

I would recommend this location to all my friends and the rest of our large family. We'll go back for sure.

Thanks Chele, Ned and Remmy for a wonderful vacation. Karen

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is the place to stay. Very elegant with all the comforts of home. Welcoming hosts, Shel and Ned as well as Little Prince Remmy, the dog. Magnificent clean room with close proximity to everything, including 4 beaches and many golf courses. Fabulous neighborhood setting. Really enjoyed the in house gym on rainy mornings. Go here if you visit Rhode Island

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onearmedchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangeley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We’ve enjoyed many B&B’s and found Shells by the Sea to rank among the finest. Shell and Ned were gracious and caring hosts, they treated us as good friends from the outset.

We were pleased with the quiet residential location, yet near beaches and local businesses. Our room was spacious and very comfortable as were the common areas in their home. Added bonuses were wonderful breakfasts, a lovely pool, quality landscaping, and a relaxing atmosphere.

Sandy & Newell

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Till236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ga
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our annual trip with dear friends took us to Narragansett Bay...What a great place to visit..
We enjoyed our stay at Shells By The Sea. Shell & Ned were very friendly & accomodating...
Breakfast was very good and we really enjoyed the other guests. The house has everything you need, we especially liked the lower level, pool table , gym and a bar area..etc..
We arrived during a "heat wave" so the beautiful pool and grounds were refreshing !
If you are looking for a place to "Chillax" ....this B & B is for you !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonneandbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you're looking for a hotel with privacy then this isn't the place for you as you will be eating and interacting with Ned and Shell and other guests. We loved the experience. It was like visiting my favorite aunt and uncle. Ned and shell couldn't have been nicer and accommodating. The place is the cleanest place I have EVER stayed in and breakfast was delicious! It offers a pool and work out room. You cannot walk to anything except Brickley's and Twin Willows. Beach is 3.5 miles and out of state residents can no longer park there. Street parking only but we had no issues since we were at the beach early.

Room Tip: Ask for third floor suite. It's big, private and you have your own bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narragansett
3.0 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#3 of 8 in Narragansett
57 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
206 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#7 of 8 in Narragansett
145 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
190 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sheppard's Place
Sheppard's Place
#3 of 10 in Narragansett
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shells By The Sea B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shells By The Sea B&B

Property: Shells By The Sea B&B
Address: 8 River View Rd, Narragansett, RI 02882-2826
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Narragansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shells By The Sea is an elegant non-smoking adult environment, that feels just like home. Hosts Shell and Ned treat guests to a warm welcome and cool comfortable stay, along with a home cooked breadfast . Guest's can enjoy playing pool or working out in our exercise room. Perhaps a 600 square foot suite is what your looking for. Not to mention Rhode Island's beaches, Newport, Wickford, BlockIsland, Jamestown, and the University of Rhode Island. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing