We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten Free and Delicious!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ocean View Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #50 of 90 Restaurants in Narragansett
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
“Gluten Free and Delicious!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Every item on the menu is made to order, and outstandingly so. Each mouthful was a treat and, though it took time for each order to be prepared and cooked to delicious perfection, it was very well worth the wait.

I am gluten free and the owners took my concerns very seriously. Their recommendations were 5*. Truly I can't wait to return to the Ocean View!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlutenFreeReview17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    2
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The very tastiest Chinese food”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Each dish is prepared individually, using the freshest ingredients. Although it can be slow at times, order the appetizers in advance and they will be ready when you arrive and you won't be hungry. Try all the top ten dishes and find out they are all very different and very flavorful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roberta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had to give it up”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The food used to be fabulous and still CAN be good but the service is surly- she is even rude to us when we do carry out!

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This restaurant should be avoided. The service is usually poor, and the food is average. When I used to go here it often took a long time to get our food. The management is downright scary - I have heard the owners fighting in the kitchen more than once! Not a place to eat and definitely not a place to bring your kids. You have so many other choices in Mariner Square - like Arturo Joe's and Mariner Grille....even Domino's Pizza is a better choice than this place. AVOID!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank Beau S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Slow... but Simply Superb”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Ocean View has a large dining area, a large menu... but is really is a 2-person show. The hostess waits on all the tables, and is the cashier. Her husband is the invisible chef in the kitchen who insists on making everything from the scratch. So you get the freshest, flavorful, skillfully prepared food. But, as you can imaging, this takes time. So, take a bottle of wine or a 6-pack of beer (this is a BYOB place), order a simple appetizer, order your food, and enjoy conversing with your partner, friends, or family. The food is really superb, well worth the wait. Our favorite? The shrimp in shells cooked with large garlic cloves and basil... mmmm...!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Globalist3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean View Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 
Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 
Narragansett, South County
 

Been to Ocean View Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing