We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resturant and exceptional service by Hannah”

George's of Galilee
Ranked #6 of 91 Restaurants in Narragansett
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Overlooking the Block Island Sound in the picturesque fishing port of Galilee, George's of Galilee Waterfront Seafood Restaurant has been serving generations of families its award winning signature dishes since 1948. We offer the widest selection of fresh local boat-to-plate seafood, a new sushi menu, lobster specials, as well as fresh hand-cut rib eye steaks. Choose from five different dining rooms on two floors, al fresco dining, and our takeout window, all with spectacular RI waterfront views. Check for live entertainment and special events on our covered deck. Be sure to visit our gift shop and Nana's Ice Cream & Gelato and Nana's Candy Bar.
Worcester, U.S. Virgin Islands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great resturant and exceptional service by Hannah”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Absolutely love George's, have been going there for 20 years. Have always enjoyed the food, drinks and atmosphere. Our recent visit was very pleasurable with having Hannah as our waitress, she was so in tuned to our dining style, it was uncanny ! She was there at the right moment for our drink orders, but yet had no pressure on us for our laid back food order, even in a crowded restaurant. Hannah turned a normally A dining experience, into an A+ experience !! She was also so sweet to add a Happy Birthday note to my husband on our tab, she was just a great pleasure to have serving us.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karla A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    198
    84
    40
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great view and Good food”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We dined outside Aug 10 2014. They have take out and dine in. Make sure you put your name in, it was over an hour wait. THEY SHOULD HAVE A PAGING SYSTEM. We wanted to walk around but could not go far due to not wanting to loose our place. Food was good. Fried clams were good. Could have been bigger. They did have homemade tartar sauce. Waiter was very nice. Atmosphere was great. Reasonably priced. They do have two types of chowder. RI style and Dill. We were able to taste each one to decide. Both were good. The dill was comparable to NE Chowdah. Def worth checking out.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lobstahicas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtown
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I have loved this place forever”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

The food here is consistently good and who can beat an ocean view - I have never had a bad meal here in the last 35 plus years. This is always a good recommendation for anyone in the RI Galilee area,

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waitress2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Great waitress ~ Hilary A.”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

While my dinner wasn't the greatest, baked stuffed shrimp not hot out of the oven & garlic mashed potatoes that didn't have much flavor, our waitress was great! My husband & I had 4 teens/pre-teens with us and Hilary was very attentive and had a very upbeat personality!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A+ across the board... especially Dotty”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

My visit to George's of Galilee was an absolute pleasure. I had the Garden Burger which was listed on the specials and our wonderful server Dotty let me build my own during the busiest time of the night (thankfully because I'm very picky and also vegetarian). She was extremely accommodating to my mother's annoying allergies and even more annoying personality. The food was excellent according to every guest in our four-person party, Dotty recommended the perfect wine based off of my desired description, and she never skipped a beat when we needed something small. The atmosphere was genuinely homey and comfortable and the establishment was very clean. Even the hosts and other servers were helpful and kind. I would absolutely recommend George's to anyone in the area and even to some that would be willing to make the trip for such a pleasant dining experience. If you do happen to stop in and are craving a good laugh and excellent service, request miss Dotty and enjoy your meal... I'm sure you will!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rachel e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's of Galilee also viewed

Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 
Narragansett, South County
 
South Kingstown, South County
Narragansett, South County
 

Been to George's of Galilee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing