We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Champlin's Seafood

Champlin's Seafood
Ranked #8 of 90 Restaurants in Narragansett
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Secret treasure”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

If you really want a great clam fritters, seek out champlin's! It's not high end, but. Definitely not low class.
Good local atmosphere, great service and not too shabby on the wallet. U can sit on the deck and watch the ferries and boats come in.

It has a good bar selection and is just a great relaxing place wih awesome seafood. Family friendly!
I aske a local where he best fritters are, and this is the first name that rolled off his lips.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zyniker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    88
    39
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great for a fix of sea food”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The fried fish and shellfish are excellent. If you want some of "everything" - fried clams, shrimp, fish, scallops - try the Seafood Platter. The lobster roll is by far the best in the area. And, of course, the boiled lobsters are excellent. One does not go here for fine dining since it is really a "take-out" with indoor and outdoor picnic tables for seating; but one does go here for fine food very well prepared.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 111SCS111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
435 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Best live steamers to cook at home!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We live locally, and while we have sometimes eaten here, and enjoyed it, for the most part this is our retail fresh fish market. Just today we bought 5 lbs of steamers and cooked them at home on Great Island. They were wonderful -- fresh, clean, and very flavorful. The staff all look like fishermen and are very pleasant and helpful. The prices are up
there, but the quality of the seafood in the retail store is very high.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jop2map
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always excellent!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have to go to Champlins when we visit RI. It has the best seafood, it makes all other seafood in recognizable as seafood. We had raw oysters the last time we were there and they are magnitudes better than most restaurants with atmosphere. That is the only catch, is that you serve yourself, but you can't beat the view and the food here! My son had a hotdog, and even that was exceptional!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VAWineLovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“you must try”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

went twice and both times the food was very good. fresh seafood, lobster dinner was excellent, scapllops are sweet and the fried oysters was yummy. large menu. wait in line it is worth the trip

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank nan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champlin's Seafood also viewed

Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 

Been to Champlin's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing