We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good and we could enjoy it on the beach”

Maharaja Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 91 Restaurants in Narragansett
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
troy ny
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very good and we could enjoy it on the beach”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The curry was great. The second time it was bit saltier. They were quick to get food for and as a take-out for picnic on the beach to eat with the sunset, they set it up so we had everything we needed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrJeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    22
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Decent Indian food”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We finally decided to try this place on an evening when we were both craving Indian food and didn't feel like driving too far.
The Maharaja has a pretty good, but slightly limited menu. We began by sharing the Tandoori chicken which was quite good, and exactly the right portion for an appetizer. My husband then had the lamb burani and I ordered the lamb saag. Both were satisfying, but his was a bit tastier, with more complex seasoning. He ordered it medium hot, which was just right.
Service was a bit less than polished, but they were pleasant and tried hard. We'd go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank genevaRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new england
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian cuisine”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

It's great to find a a superior Indian restaurant in South County. We went to this restaurant for lunch and everything was wonderful. The chicken tikka marsala and the lamb korma were delicious. Perfectly spiced sauces and very tender meat. The cilantro and garlic naan was also very tasty and we also shared basmati rice which was ample in size.We also enjoyed a mango lassi, which was also delicious.The portions are very generous. Our waiter was very friendly & efficient.This was our second time there and we were NOT disappointed. We definitely will return and highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank egretnewengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“wish it was better...”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We finally decided to give this place a try since it has reopened in a smaller location in the same plaza as the previous restaurant. We are very particular about Indian food and have enjoyed it in many cities (and a few different countries). We were hoping that this would be a new option for us close to our home (we could literally walk here).

We ordered three dishes and some plain naan (all as take out).

The Dal Tadka was probably the best dish. It seemed to be a little hotter than my wife expected for ordering it mild.

The Chicken Tikka Masala was a tiny bit overcooked but the chicken was still tender. The heat level of this dish was actually a little low considering that we had ordered it medium. The sauce was very "off" in our opinion because it lacked the typical flavor (or spice) that this dish usually has and it was very sweet (which is odd). If we ever go back I don't think we will be ordering this again.

The Alu Gobi was the proper heat level for ordering it medium as this is typically a hot dish, however it was missing the flavor or spices that we are used to. It pretty much just tasted like spicy cauliflower and potatoes (both which were undercooked). Usually the potatoes have absorbed a lot of the spices and are very hot but in this case the undercooked potatoes really had no flavor.

The naan seemed ok but we really can't judge it because naan never travels well (it always gets a little soggy).

the basmati rice was very good and they gave us a lot of it. I guess I should mention that all of the above servings were about the normal size.

Unfortunately this food didn't really satisfy our cravings so for this type of food we will have to continue visiting Kabob & Curry in Providence or Kashmir in Boston. When we are in the mood for a different Indian menu we visit Rasoi near the East Side of Providence.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beach02882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesburg, fl
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great Indian food”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I had a fantastic meal and great, friendly service. We had chicken tikka, black lentils in a nice sauce, rice & naan bread. Everything was tasty and its BYOB!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beach_mom_leesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharaja Restaurant also viewed

Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 
Narragansett, South County
 
Narragansett, South County
 

Been to Maharaja Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing