We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DON'T!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hammerhead Grill

Hammerhead Grill
Ranked #39 of 90 Restaurants in Narragansett
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New Jersey
2 reviews
“DON'T!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Awful, just awful. One star is too generous. Placed our order and while we were waiting for our soup to arrive we asked for bread. They said they were out of bread. How can a restaurant be out of bread? The Seafood Chowder came, it was tasteless. Then we waited a long time for our entrees. My son ordered Fish and Chips. What could be bad, right? Wrong. The fish was soggy and tasted like it had been microwaved. The fries, which had been ordered well done were barely cooked. My husband ordered a broiled fish platter. The cod or whatever it was, had some kind of stuffing that was cold and bland. I ordered a salad with grilled chicken. What they brought me was a side salad with about a half of a chicken breast.
We couldn't get out of there fast enough. We've been coming to Rhode Island every summer for 20 years. This is the worst restaurant experience we've had in all that time. Avoid at all costs.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rleenio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    7
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Granby, Connecticut
Level Contributor
176 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“beautiful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Good seafood choices but I like the views especially at sunset. We mostly get appetizers and cocktails there. There are some interesting and tasty choices - get the calamari :)

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo-AnnAlbano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
459 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Breakfast on the Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Loved the Hammerhead. Had dinner and breakfast there. Recommend the breakfast - Saturday and Sunday only- for its omelets. Try the Fishermen breakfats. An added plus is the Hammerhead's outside deck with an excellent view of the ocean and the Point Judith Lighthouse. Our server, Jody, was outstanding.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jrjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Had the Blackend tuna sandwich and a drink out on the deck. Beautiful

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Darsik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atkinson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food with ocean view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Enjoyed our meals, service and ocean view. We'll have to try other dinners to properly compare but very satisfied with the sweet clams and fish.
Wish they were opened for breakfast to save a long drive to the mall for a good breakfast. Was pretty busy for last week in June,so go early 11:00, as soon as they open to get your order in. I can imagine the crowd in July.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JGTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hammerhead Grill also viewed

Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 
Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 

Been to Hammerhead Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing