We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”

Aunt Carrie's Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 90 Restaurants in Narragansett
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
421 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We usually go here in the beginning of The season to celebrate the end of winter and the beginning of spring. This year was no different. Instead of ordering the lobster roll, I decided to order the fried clams and my wife had the fish and chip.
My fried clams were okay, but not great. My wife's fish and chips was just not as good as we expected it.
One note, I do love the lobster rolls and clam cakes and chowder, but we decided to change it up this year.
Won't do that again. We will stick to what we know and like.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    111
    90
    43
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harvard, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Great Fried Seafood Spot”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a great place to go to get all the traditional fried food you would expect from a New England clam shack (clam cakes, fried clams, scallops, shrimp, chowders, lobster rolls, fish and chips, etc.). I would not suggest eating here everyday, health wise that is, but it is a great place to visit every once in a while or to take out of towners to. It is right on the Ocean so that is nice. You can walk down to a stone beach after your meal and check out what the surf. They also sell ice cream as well. Can be very busy at peak hours so plan ahead. Worth a stop if you are in the area and love seafood for sure.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Aunt Carrie Won't Let You Down”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Come as you are, bring the kids and treat yourself to soft, delicious clam cakes and chowder (chowdah). It's casual, good service, and a popular place to be for lunch or dinner. Take a bag of clam cakes to go on your way to Wheeler beach or stop in on your way home. Aunt Carrie's will become your family's favorite rhody tradition.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 26.2er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
239 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“What's a Clam Cake?”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We have been coming to Aunt Carries since the mid 1940's. When we started coming, Clam Cakes were handed to you in a paper bag and cost $0.60 per dozen or 5 cents each. Today they are a bit higher; $7.69 per dozen,

Aunt Carries has been around since the 1920's and is a charming, classic new England family restaurant. It is NOT slick and there might be a reluctance in stopping from the appearance. STOP and go in. Or get a take out and go down the road to Point Judith and relax near the old lighthouse.

In ALL of Rhode Island this was the BEST place to get Clam Cakes. Simply described they are deep fried fritters that have clam bits in the batter. When the batter is dropped into the oil, fingers of batter protrude and are cooked. The whole event is great. The ONLY thing you need to have with your clam cakes is a cold beer. No ketchup, mustard, mayo, salt or anything else goes on them. Just eat them.

BTW- For the new visitors to New England, the the typical clam chowder is not thick, full of potatoes, or milky. It's different and if all you have ever had is the thick stuff, you may not like it. Ask for a small taste first. Then make your decision.

There is a full menu of good, tasty New England seafood. Try whatever interests you, but you MUST have an order of clam cake with it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great tasting food”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Te food was awesome. My first time there and I loved every minute of it. Besides the air head behind te counter who wasn't listening to anything I said which was kind of aggravating. Overall my good was awesome and will come back again in the future. Ps get rid if the air head.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boo123455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aunt Carrie's Restaurant also viewed

Narragansett, South County
 
Narragansett, South County
 

Been to Aunt Carrie's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing