We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible! Warning, Warning!”

Aunt Carrie's Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 91 Restaurants in Narragansett
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Horrible! Warning, Warning!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I visited Aunt Carries last week and ordered the fried shrimp platter, when it came out of the kitchen the food was nice and hot. The shrimp on top of the pile was a golden brown but under the top shrimp the bottom ones were a dark funny color that just didn't look right. I said something to the waitress and she agreed that it looked bad, she asked me if i wanted to order something else so I got the fried calamari and that came out in TINY rings, never seen any that small. They were so chewy that I could not eat them. I told the waitress and she said she was sorry and had the meal taken off the bill. On a good note my husband had the bay scallops and he was very happy with them. I will never go bad there again! I will go to Iggy's across the street next time!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frannya53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    120
    98
    44
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warning warning warning”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

How sad this letter is for the owner, ive been going to your rest for 35 years and u can see it going to part..Was just there today no line, but across at IGGYS was a line a mile long, mmmmmI know now why...The clam cakes have hardly any clams in them and they came out all shriveled up, They must have been sitting there for 15 or 20 min. As Iggy's cooks everything fresh.....I will predict it now, If the owner does not put its crew together Aunt Carries will be no more...........Food was awful, though the BIRDS loved it all, will never go back there again and Hello IGGY'S

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank goldenfleece4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atkinson, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Horrible fish, chewy clams.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I would have to believe the food was frozen. The fish is not Haddock, Talapia or something that has no flavor. The clams were so chewy and we threw them away. The french fries were nothing great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JGTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good service and food after the beach!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Good service - server was attentive and the meals arrived fast!
We shared the fried clams - perfect sized portion to share for two
Ordered the coconut shrimp special - delicious and my boyfriend ordered the fish and chips.
Will go back again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank youcandoit30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Really, Clam Cakes....”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Perhaps the best Lobster BLT I've had anywhere! Fresh hand made breads and 3 different types of Chowder. A must do when you are in the Point Judith area. And done forget the Clam Cakes! Very nice location close to both beaches and the Block Island ferry. Don;t forget the stop for an Ice Cream after your meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eswheeler613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aunt Carrie's Restaurant also viewed

Narragansett, South County
 
Narragansett, South County
 
Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 

Been to Aunt Carrie's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing