We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coast Guard House is Back ... and Better”
Review of Coast Guard House

Coast Guard House
Reserve with OpenTable
Coast Guard House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 92 Restaurants in Narragansett
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Spectacular waterfront dining overlooking Narragansett Bay. Offering an array of creative cuisine; supporting all aspects of sustainable agriculture and aquaculture. We use local farms when possible and source produce for quality and sustainability. Our seafood is sourced from purveyors that are dedicated to locating species from areas that produce the best tasting and highest quality seafood available.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Okay, so this is not a bistro overlooking the Mediterranean in the south of France, but for locals and visitors to this beach town on Block Island Sound it's next best without the air fare. Very happy to have the CGH back after being wiped out -- almost -- by Hurricane Sandy. They've done a nice job upgrading and enlarging the dining room by moving the bar area to the waterside and creating an open space from stem to stern, with great views from every table. The menu seems the same -- an eclectic range from an Angus burger to lobster. Not to die for, but prices are fair and the cocktails generously poured. When we're in town, which is often, it's an easy and frequent choice for dining out -- busy in summer, so we go early, but less-stressed after the summer crown leaves. We're looking forward to eating in the bar area on a frigid night off-season when we can enjoy the new gas fireplace in the corner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NOYB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastGuardHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Coast Guard House, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you for joining us in our newly renovated dining room! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (814)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

614 - 618 of 814 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014

We found parking on the street nearby, which may well have been dumb luck since the area serves beach goers. They do have valet parking, so you probably want avail yourself of that. We had lunch on the upper deck at 3 pm - got seated right away on railing by a friendly hostess. Shared a Portobello Chicken Panini - that was good. Very tasty seasonings.

Overall a pleasant experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

A delicious lunch on the outside deck- was looking for a place to eat on route 1 heading and saw the great reviews. This place was just what we needed to conclude our vacation.

1  Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We decided to try the upper deck rather than wait 45 min for a table inside. The place was packed! People were having a great time. We asked for an outside table that overlooked the ocean. While waiting for the table we sat at the bar and enjoyed a local brew. The staff was very friendly and the service was great. We were seated quickly. Our waitress was extra nice and extra helpful. The calamari was outstanding ! We loved the meals and stayed until after 10 pm enjoying the ocean view. It was a great spot. Three Thumbs Up !

1  Thank KandSZNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastGuardHouse, Manager at Coast Guard House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

We are delighted that your experience on the deck was enjoyable.
Thank you for dining with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Just reopened after being destroyed by Sandy. The inside is just gorgeous. The location of the bar has been swapped with the old kitchen. Now one can sit have a drink and take in thr gorgeous view!! Unfortunately the food didn't warrant the exorbitant prices. My husband and I had the swordfish. It was dry and nothing special. The menu price was $18. We were charged $20. The side dishes?? The bok choy (baby)
consisted of 2 pieces cut in half for $6. Lugers and the like charge alot for their side dishes but serve a good portion.
I will never understand why restaurants spend so much on the building but neglect the kitchen. Maybe the Coast Guard House should rethink their menu.

1  Thank elizabetht226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastGuardHouse, Manager at Coast Guard House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Thank you for joining us for dinner. There was much thought and time spent on the new menu and regret that it did not live up to your expectations. We do aim to exceed our guests expectations and it is very unfortunate that this was not achieved while dining with us.

We appreciate the opportunity and thank you for your feedback.
We do hope you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coast Guard House also viewed

Narragansett, South County
 
Narragansett, South County
South Kingstown, South County
 

Been to Coast Guard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing