We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch by the sea”
Review of Coast Guard House

Coast Guard House
Reserve with OpenTable
Coast Guard House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 90 Restaurants in Narragansett
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Spectacular waterfront dining overlooking Narragansett Bay. Offering an array of creative cuisine; supporting all aspects of sustainable agriculture and aquaculture. We use local farms when possible and source produce for quality and sustainability. Our seafood is sourced from purveyors that are dedicated to locating species from areas that produce the best tasting and highest quality seafood available.
Hull, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Lunch by the sea”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Elegant dining by the sea. The pear and goat cheese salad was a terrific light lunch. The little rock sculptures just outside the window were fun too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    226
    68
    30
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, too crowded”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This place is located just above Narragansett beach. It is right where the famous Towers are and has outside decks. We find it to be over crowded with many intoxicated partyers-not good for families. Menu is good, food is pretty good-overpriced for the portions. Long wait for food. Go down the street to Turtle Soup-also crowded but nicer atmosphere.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank theroadlesstravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“was rude to a cg member”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

so I am a member or the USCG and I went here unknowing it was a separate restaurant/identity. I was ignored from the hostess and several waitresses and when we were finally seated finally and asked for our order (with my child was not even given a kids menu) he was forced to share with us with lack of menu. I asked if this had any relation to the CG since I am a member and received a rude comment. I thought my question was legitimate since the name of the restaurant is the coast guard house. I would have been embarrassed if it was actually connected with the coast guard to be honest. So either they hire rude people all around or it was an off day (my contact with the hostess and waitresses. Apparently all they care about are the looks of the girls rather thank customer service. I will not go back. EXTREMELY DISSATISFIED

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank katy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastGuardHouse, Owner at Coast Guard House, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
The Coast Guard House would like to apologize for any rude behavior emulating from our staff. We encourage and train our staff to be welcoming and helpful. Our restaurant is an old life savings station and we would love to have another opportunity to take you around. Please contact me at the restaurant at your convenience.

We appreciate your service in the USCG!

Bob Leonard
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“We will go again for lunch . . .”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had lunch at the Coast Guard House and sat upstairs under an umbrella on a beautiful day overlooking the water. The five of us were pleased with our meals. The clam and corn chowder was very good. Four of us had salads with salmon or chicken added. One of us had fish tacos. The food was very tasty, and in ample quantity. No complaints whatsoever. Service was fine, and we did not wait long for our meals. Prices were not out of line with summer resorts in high season. I guess the best description is that we will certainly consider returning there for lunch when we visit Narragansett in the future. I thought upstairs and outside would be a nice bar to sit at and have a cocktail with friends some sunny summer day.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank STX_M3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We sat outside so it was a more laid back setting, but the fish tacos were fabulous! The pomegranate margarita was good too :)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coast Guard House also viewed

Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 
Narragansett, South County
 
South Kingstown, South County
 

Been to Coast Guard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing