We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clam Jammers closed, now is Wheel House (which was a previous name))”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Clam Jammers

Clam Jammers
Ranked #69 of 90 Restaurants in Narragansett
Cuisines: Seafood, American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Wakefield, RI
Level Contributor
221 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
“Clam Jammers closed, now is Wheel House (which was a previous name))”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Below average food (way too pricey for the quality), steep beer prices, disinterested waitpeople. With these prices and food quality, I can't see them even operating when the season is over. Scrod was $16, Yeungling $5.50 ($2 more then other places). No fresh hamburgers, cole slaw, etc, all purchased form Sysco. Bait Processing plant next door whose odor permeates the front part of the bar.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank edtoby007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    5
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Filthy!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

A group of about 8 friends went there after stopping at the Seafood Festival. Wow this place is filthy. Mirrors had something dripping down them, brown liquid underneath counter, dust and filth everywhere. We did not eat and I would never eat there because of the condition of everything I looked at was gross. I do not know how they are still open. This place needs bar rescue! I cannot believe the GM or owners allows this to look like this. Very disappointing, because this could be a great place to visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaritamomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellent service. Waitress excellent, even remembered my beer choice from a previous visit. Meals were excellent. Managers/owners are very personable. Definitely will dine there again

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1775rifleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful deck view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We ate dinner here our first night in Galilee and watched the boats in the harbor and the sun going down - very nice. Great lobster roll!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Food mediocre-go to Champlins or Georges- prices the same”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I bought a groupon for here because I wanted to try it.

There are only 4-5 restaurants on the strip of road near the beach and where you get on/off the ferry to Block Island, and this one was relatively new ( at least to me)

When we went during a weekday at lunch, it was almost empty. The bartender greeted us warmly and we were waited on quickly. We had a nice view and I took some pictures from the window of the water. We were served our drinks quickly and then looked at the menu. Nothing different here, so go with the flow!

We ordered fried calamari with banana peppers. Too greasy and more heads then tentacles. The banana peppers were just sprinkled over them, not sautéed in garlic and oil. Also no salt so they were kind of tasteless. The chowder was ok. Not great or bad, just - clam chowder. That's the problem- the food is just average and you're in a rustic old building at the top of it.

So service was good, but the prices are the same as ALL the restaurants- maybe $1-2 difference for calamari, and clams, lobster - but the bottom line is the food is why you go.

There is no real "atmosphere" at Champlins or Buster Krabs. or here - but the food is better at Champlins.

If you want any atmosphere other than beach shack, go to Georges, where they remodeled last year after the storm. It's much nicer inside and has a college to 40's crowd. However, prices are a bit higher due to that.

But I rate the food from first (being best) to last (being most average) as Champlins, Georges, Buster Krabs and Clamjammers. You can get the same thing pretty much at all of them- it's just you want.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sassyboos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clam Jammers also viewed

Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 
Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 

Been to Clam Jammers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing