We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The way to go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Block Island Ferry

Block Island Ferry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Block Island Ferry is your fastest link to Block Island, Rhode Island. Interstate Navigation Company, Inc. operates the Block Island Ferry, and is the only year-round ferry service to Block Island. Based in Point Judith, (Narragansett), Rhode Island, the Block island Ferry offers Traditional ferry service, (55 minute voyage) as well as the fastest ferry trip from the mainland on the High speed ferry service, (30 minute cruise)from Pt. Judith,. RI. Block Island Ferry also offers seasonal service from Fall River, Ma (2 hour cruise) & Newport, RI (1 hour cruise) to Block Island.If your trip to Block Island is for business, a family vacation, or an island weekend getaway, the Block Island Ferry will get you to Block Island quickly and easily. The Block Island Ferry is the only vehicle ferry service to Block Island. We transport passenger vehicles, commercial trucks as well as shipping freight. The Block Island Ferry is your full service ferry company. We have the most departures and convenient ferry schedule from the mainland which allows you greater flexibility when traveling to and from Block Island on our traditional or high speed ferry!
Haymarket, Virginia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“The way to go!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

On time, efficient and friendly service. We took our car and arrived as instructed, 60 minutes before the ferry left. Our travel was midweek in September and we were amazed at the number of commercial vehicles that departed from the mainland to work on Block Island. The return ferry was 8:15 and we were the first vehicle to arrive. Since the 60 minute arrival recommendation is for in-season travel, I would ask the Block Island ferry folks if that 60 minutes is necessary. Reservations are required for vehicles.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nashna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    115
    22
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hassle Free”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Nothing but good things to say. All the basics were spot on...easy to purchase tickets on the spot, left on time, clean, no issues sailing, arrived as expected, and got to our destination exactly when we thought we would. It really is a 55 min trip from Point Judith to BI. Will definitely use this easy and cost effective means of transportation to get to BI again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank IslandBride25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
128 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“full day of sun, scenery, swimming, and bonus ferry ride”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Block island has a variety of things to keep you busy and something for everyone. First there is the ferry ride. You can go as a passenger or take your car. We took our car because it enabled us to get around the island. You can rent bicycles for riding or take cabs. There are a number of beaches for sitting, sunning and swimming. We also found a nice picnic place with tables near an open water area that was isolated and private. We were able to get there because we had the car but there were many bikers passing by. The two lighthouses at either end of the island are worth visiting. The views all over the island are great. At the end of a long day it was nice to ride the ferry back.
IMPORTANT:: YOU MUST MAKE RESERVATIONS FOR TAKING YOUR CAR, THERE AND BACK AND DO IT AT LEAST 1-2 DAYS BEFORE YOUR TRIP.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bracha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
125 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Enjoyable ride”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

On a bright sunny day we arrived just in the nick of time to take a morning ferry (not the fast one) over to Block Island. We didn't buy tickets and even though the line looked long we purchased our round trip tickets in enough time. We had our luggage and we placed on some rough wooden shelving on the first level by the vehicles. We made our way up a few decks and stood by the railing and enjoyed the view. We even saw some large jelly fish in the ocean. The ferry does sell drinks and snacks. Vehicles disembark first so don't be in a hurry to get off. Smooth ride.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Block island - the place to be!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I have to say that if you are in rhode island, you should definitely visit this clean and green island. It holds historic importance too, for its southeast lighthouse. Best part you can cover the newport area while you plan for a visit to block island.
Keep travelling n exploring.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ankur a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Block Island Ferry also viewed

New Shoreham, Block Island
Narragansett, South County
 

Been to Block Island Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing