We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun little park!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fishermen's Memorial State Park & Campground

Fishermen's Memorial State Park & Campground
Ranked #10 of 26 things to do in Narragansett
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fun little park!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We loved that this park was located within walking distance of a small fishing village. It has a neat military history, and you can go clamming just by walking out into the muck during low tide. The beach is a short drive away. Nice quiet place for families.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    5
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“My friend said it is the Cadillac of RI campgrounds . . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We used to camp here when the children were little upon the recommendation of a friend. It has several bath houses scattered throughout the campground. It has winding roads with hedgerows separating areas. Many of the campsites are grass covered. Camp sites are close together, but large enough for our tent and large screen house. Two interesting features are the World War II bunkers that you may explore, and also a tidal basin bordering the back of the campground where we would go to dig clams. The kids enjoyed it. Need to bring a shovel along. We always let them go after finding them. The park is close to dining, laundromats, and stores for basic shopping. We had to make reservations VERY early in the year, but it allowed us to get the site we wanted. Good family place to camp, and it was relatively inexpensive. I wouldn't hesitate to go back again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank STX_M3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Location only”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The park is only about 1 mile from Scarborough State Beach and makes an affordable and acceptable base camp for visits here or for a trip to Block Island. This is one of the poorest State Parks we have stayed in. For clarification we stayed in Tent Area 3 which is worse than some other areas in this park. This area has small sites that are close together... the bathroom sites are right at the door... poor souls. Showers and bathhouses are in rough shape. No cooking grates or charcoal grills at the campsites so bring your own if you want to cook.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank NittanyLi0nFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
116 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Not our type of camping.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We were quite disappointed in the camping here. The sites, while adequate in size are to close together, affording little privacy. Many of the sites are adjacent to the toilets with no barrier between the site and the bathrooms. There are some sites that have trees and bushes but even those are right next to others and you can hear everything the other people say, we even heard our neighbor snoring. Additionally, there is a fog horn that goes off every couple of minutes throughout much of the night (stops sometime after midnight) making it extra hard to sleep. The bathrooms are adequate and the pay showers are nice and hot. Could not get enough juice from the outlet in the bathroom to operate my airmattress pump which was a bit of a bummer.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Hawkshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atkinson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Typical State park, below par from privately run parks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Drove through to see if I'd want to camp there versus get a hotel. Bathrooms are small, few in number for the number of camp sites, chrome all peeling off faucetts. The plus side is many of the sites have trees and shade. There is no pool, no pond or lake like the camp grounds in NH or Vermont, to get cool in the summer. A tent in the hot summer days and nights would be uncomfortable, the other times of year it could be nice. There is no onsite store but the shopping mall is a few miles north. As I remember the breakfast diner, liquor store and Duncan Donuts were 1 or 2 traffic lights north.
There was no sign as to the cost. The only sign was at the RV waste disposal $50 discharge fee. The location is within a mile or two from restaurants and about 2 miles point Judith beach and about 3 miles to the much larger Scarborough state beaches.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JGTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishermen's Memorial State Park & Campground also viewed

Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 
Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 

Been to Fishermen's Memorial State Park & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing