We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't live up to it's reviews....”

Jimmy's Portside Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 91 Restaurants in Narragansett
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
Description: On the main street of Galilee right across from the dock of the Block Island Ferry.
Restaurant details
Description: On the main street of Galilee right across from the dock of the Block Island Ferry.
Endicott, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to it's reviews....”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The food was ordinary and the service fine. The raw little necks were not as fresh as others we had during our stay. I had a lobster roll. It was fine, but I had one twice the size another day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnenGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    2
    8
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dont be fooled by four stars”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We Googled Jimmy's before deciding on where to have lunch. With so many great reviews we figured we couldn't go wrong. When we entered the dining room on a Saturday at lunch time and it was empty we should have known enough to walk out.

There are three chowder choices on the menu; white, clear, and red. We decided on white chowder and clam cakes. The chowder was just a bowl of warm tasteless milk with a few large chunks of potato and very few clams. Campbell's Soup chowder beats Jimmy's chowder hands down. The clam cakes were "ok", a little doughy and very few clams.

For lunch we ordered clam rolls, a chicken sandwich, and a cheeseburger. The clam rolls were served with fries which were good, and a side of tarter sauce that was just mayonnaise in a plastic cup. There was no cole slaw. I've had better clams from the frozen food section of Stop & Shop. The cheeseburger was thin like a McDonalds patty and over cooked. As for the chicken sandwich, it was just a frozen piece of Tyson's chicken breast out bag a that was so dry my son could not tear a piece off with his teeth.

My bottle of Sam Adams was delicious which is the only thing that was good. Such a huge disappointment after driving an hour to Galilee. We left $79.00 later and will never go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Glenn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Providence, Rhode Island, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Watery clam chowder”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We had been going to Portside since I was a little girl. Yesterday was my last time there. The white clam chowder was very watery and the clam cakes were tasteless & doughy . The fried clams were OK. For the prices, we'll be going to Iggy's from now on. Very disappointed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Still a great restaurant...friendly, freshest fish, and now a crisp makeover”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I just read the last review and it sounded like we ate at two different restaurants! Dad (age 92) and I went Saturday night after the 4th (July 6th) and it was fabulous. We both ordered the fisherman's platter. Knowing how large it is, we purposely did not order chowder which is delicious. New tables and chairs, fresh paint and new photographs on the wall brightened the dining room and the TV was off. The doors were open so we experienced a nice breeze and with the shades wide open we could watch the arrivals and departures of the Block Island ferries.

The shrimp, whole belly clams, scallops and flounder were fried to perfection. The scallops were small and juicy; the shrimp were large and plump and the flounder moist and flaky. Whole belly clams are my favorites and Portside is the #1 place serving large perfectly deep fried sweet clams fresh off the boat. Lobster salad came with a light coating of mayo with lots of lobster. Another excellent meal from Portside where I have been dining with total satisfaction since they opened when I was a child.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“No stars. Couldn't submit without giving 1 star.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from an 'experience' from this place. We went here due to Trip Advisor reviews and Jim's Dock (where we had planned on eating) had a 2 hour wait. Just went to Mariner Grill, Monihan's Clam Shack and Matunuck Oyster Farm on this vacation and had wonderful meals...but wanted to try something new. It's Friday on 4th of July weekend and we sat right down for dinner. That should have raised our red flag...but we've been so happy following Trip Advisor reviews so we went with it...despite the NASCAR race playing loudly on theTV and the bright fluorescent lighting and drawn shades. Even the drunk guy who kept stumbling in with his pants around his thighs didn't scare us away. Whiskey sour was all sour mix, followed by lobster bisque that was thick like pink chowder and tasted like flour. Steamers were good, as we're our kids meals of chicken parmesan. Mozzarella sticks were good and stuffed clams were decent. My husband ordered the stuffed
shrimp with "lump crab meat" and was served shrimp stuffed with grease soaked breading. There was no crab to be found. He apologized and said that he had to turn it back, as it was all breading with no crab. Our poor waitress returned to our table stating that the kitchen said there was nothing wrong with it and we'd have to pay for it...would we like it wrapped? My husband (who travels for a living and eats out often) once again stated that he didn't eat it and it was unsatisfactory... and he would like it removed from the bill. The next person that came to our table was a young man sent out by the owner to tell us they would split the cost with us. Once again my husband stated that there was no 'lump crab,' it was unsatisfactory, and he didn't eat it... and to please remove it from our bill. The young man stated that there was crab in it...and disagreed with the menu description of lump crab. He went to get a menu to prove us wrong only to see it did say 'lump crab!' We asked to speak to a manager and they owner came out and said again that there was nothing wrong with the food and there was crab in it, but it was all mixed up. Once again we stated it said lump crab, there was no crab to be found, it wasn't eaten and this is getting BIZARRE, and we will not be paying for it. The nasty woman
said that she'd take it off our bill and told us to never come back. (No problem!!!) This was like a trip to the twilight zone. We eat out often. We put ourselves through college and graduate school by waiting tables. Our kids were witness to this craziness. Our daughter thought she saw our waitress in tears and suspected that is why she did not return to our table. When we went to the bar to wait for our check we asked the other young man if this has happened here before and he said today was only his 4th day. (Now we see the red flags!) This
was just craziness!! Run. Do not walk. Run from this sub-par establishment. Our meal (minus shrimp) for a family of four was $110...plus tip. That could have been a fantastic meal in a nice restaurant. To say this was a disappointment doesn't come close.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Sammmmmmmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy's Portside Restaurant also viewed

Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 
Narragansett, South County
 

Been to Jimmy's Portside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing