We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worked for all in the family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charlie O's Tavern

Charlie O's Tavern
Ranked #33 of 90 Restaurants in Narragansett
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
CORTLANDT MANOR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worked for all in the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Everyone found something they liked here. The service was great and we even had gluten free options. We ate here more than once during our stay.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PatriceA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    40
    20
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
RI
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great "after beach" sandwich!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

When you need a spot to unwind after a hot day at the beach...Charlie O's is the place to go. It's close by and no need to dress up. Charlie O's is my "go to" place for a sandwich and a beer after laying in the sun and swimming all day. It really hits the spot. I don't like the bar much since you have to be related to someone to get a bartender to even look at you, but the rest of the staff is friendly and attentive. Try the prime rib sandwich...yum!! If you stick to basics...you'll have a great time here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atkinson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Went back for vacation and finally had a good supper at Charlie O's. Came here last year several times and had great service, very comfortable and great food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JGTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, CA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Tarven Fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The fish & chips sandwich had cod fish fried golden brown, moist inside done just right. The staff was very friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank l_sciabarrasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive and Soggy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have visited Narragansett every year over the last decade. Why on earth we continue to give Charlie O's a chance is beyond me. Last night was the last straw. When ordering a $9.25 burger we realized that the lettuce was 50 cents more, tomato another 50 cents, etc.. It is clearly marked in the menu, so there was no trickery here, but really!?!?!?!

To make matters worse, the french fries and chicken fingers that came out was soggy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie O's Tavern also viewed

Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 
Narragansett, South County
 

Been to Charlie O's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing